Skip to main content
Encyclopedias and dictionaries
- Antiquus Morbus A glossary of archaic medical terms, diseases and causes of death, compiled with an eye to aiding genealogists decipher causes of death listed on death certificates and mortality registers.
- Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease. This reference work has detailed entries for 161 diseases, describing both their histories and characteristics.
- Credo reference. This is a multisource database that one can search in total or by specific subsets, such as medicine, history or art.
- Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary. This is a good source for information about medical terminology.
- Encyclopedia of Birth Control. Edited by Vern L. Bullough
- Epidemics and Pandemics: Their Impact on Human History. An encylopedia by J.N. Hays
- A Historical Dictionary of Psychiatry. An electronic version of the 2005 work edited by Edward Shorter and published by Oxford University Press
- Medicine on Trial: A Handbook with Cases, Laws and Documents. Historical American jurisprudence by Elisabeth A. Cawthon
- Oxford Reference Online. This source searches multiple reference books, providing definitions and brief information for terms and people in medicine and history, drawing upon works such as the Oxford Companion to the Body, the Oxford Concise Medical Dictionary, and the Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science. This resource can be searched in total or by specific subject areas or titles.
- Tobacco: A Reference Handbook. This work includes the historical dimension to tobacco in the United States, by Harold V. Cordry
- Wikipedia - Directory of entries on the history of medicine.
An interesting article on Wikipedia and historical accuracy is Roy Rosenzweig, "Can History Be Open Source? Wikipedia and the Future of the Past," The Journal of American History, June 2006 (6 July 2006).
- Women in Medicine: an Encyclopedia by Laura Lynn Windsor
- Bibliography of Canadian Health Sciences Periodicals 1826-1980. This online bibliography, which is an expansion of Charles Roland and Paul Potter's 1979 Bibliography of Canadian Medical Periodicals, 1826-1975, lists historical Canadian periodicals in the health sciences, some with annotations, and offers links to freely available digitized content.
- Disability in the Middle East A Bibliography Comprising Materials with Technical, Cultural and Historical Relevance to Child and Adult Disabilities, Special Needs, Social and Educational Responses and Rehabilitation
- Pharmaziehistorische Bibliographie PHB PHB is an international bibliography for the history of pharmacy covering articles and reviews from journals, conferences and monographic works. PHB also reviews new books in the field of history of pharmacy and related fields.
- SexBiblio Bibliography of the history of western sexuality prepared by the Institute for Economic and Social History, University of Vienna.
- Some Useful Reference Sources in the History of Medicine, Science and Technology This is an annotated list of largely print works created by the William H. Welch Medical Library at Johns Hopkins University. This was last revised in 2003.