Skip to main content
Digital image collections
- AIDS Posters An online collection by UCLA Louise M. Darling Biomedical Library, History and Special Collections Division
- American Eugenics Movement Image archive on the American Eugenics Movement. Materials from the Eugenics Record Office at Cold Spring Harbor, which was the center of American eugenics research from 1910-1940.
- Anatomia 1522 -1867 This collection features approximately 4500 full page plates and other significant illustrations of human anatomy selected from the Jason A. Hannah and Academy of Medicine collections in the history of medicine at the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library, University of Toronto. Each illustration has been fully indexed using medical subject headings (MeSH), and the plates can also be searched or browsed by artist, engraver, lithographer and printer. There are 92 individual titles represented, ranging in date from 1522 to 1867.
- Bakken Library and Museum Artifacts Database Images and information for over 2,500 medical artifacts dating from the 18th century onwards.
- BIU Santé Banque d'images. Over 145,000 historical images drawn from the collection of the Bibliothèque interuniversitaire de Santé in Paris.
- Chinese Public Health Posters An exhibition of 20th century posters in the collection of the National Library of Medicine.
- Disability History Museum, Visual Stills Collection The museum library's visual stills collection is a searchable and browsable historical collection of over 900 digitized images of material such as photographs, paintings, lithographs and postcards relating to physical and mental disabilities. There are also digitized documents.
- Historical Anatomies on the Web National Library of Medicine, History of Medicine Division. This site contains a selection of images from the National Library of Medicine's collection of historical anatomical atlases.
- Hospital Architecture in Montreal. This digital resource contains over 1,000 images from 1642 to the present, including a case study of the Royal Victoria Hospital.
- Images from the History of Medicine This site provides access to the nearly 60,000 images in the prints and photograph collection of the History of Medicine Division of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. The collection includes portraits, pictures of institutions, caricatures, genre scenes, and graphic art in a variety of media, illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine.
- Index of Medieval Medical Images. The Index of Medieval Medical Images project began in 1988 and aimed to describe and index the content of all medieval manuscript images (up to the year 1500) with medical components held in North American collections. The goal of this 2001 pilot project was to make a substantial sample of the images and descriptions available via a searchable database on the Web.
- John Martin Rare Book Room Images Contains several hundred digital images from medical works in the Hardin Library, University of Iowa.
- The Leprosy of Tracadie, Musée Historique de Tracadie Inc. Tracadie-Sheila, New Brunswick When leprosy appeared in the northeastern region of New Brunswick at the beginning of the nineteenth century, the province of New Brunswick built a hospital on Sheldrake Island, near Chatham to prevent the spread of the disease. Between 1844 and 1949, everyone affected by leprosy was sent to this lazaretto. In 1849, the lazaretto was moved to Tracadie.
- The MacKinney Collection of Medieval Medical Illustrations From Ektachrome to Digital: the digitization of MacKinney's slide collection.
- The Osler Library Prints Collection. This is a searchable and browsable website of 2,500 visual documents related to the history of medicine that spans several centuries, countries, and artistic media. Ranging from the seventeenth to the twentieth century, the collection consists predominantly of prints, though it also includes some photographs, drawings, posters, and cartoons. Medical professionals throughout history are represented largely through portraiture, as well as through caricatures and scenes
- Patent Medicine Cards. A collection of 247 patent medicine trade cards. Patent medicines were medical compounds sold under a variety of names and labels, though they were for the most part actually trademarked medicines, not patented. The trade cards are small, colorfully illustrated advertising cards touting a particular medicine and its many cures.
- Photographs: Canadian Nurses Library and Archives Canada. This database has approximately 200 photographs covering various themes, dating back to the early 1900s, including the South African War, outpost nursing, nursing education, and hospitals.
- Printmaking Techniques A brief history of historical book illustration techniques produced for the Anatomia online exhibit by the University of Toronto.
- Visible Human Project This is the National Library of Medicine's project in which three dimensional images of male and female bodies have been created.
- Visual Culture and Health Posters National Library of Medicine. A collection of twentieth century public health posters and other material, along with explanatory text, on the subjects of: infectious disease; environmental health; anti-smoking campaigns; and HIV/AIDS.
- Wellcome Images The Wellcome Trust Medical Photographic Library is the world's leading source of images on the history of medicine, modern biomedical science and clinical medicine. This site has over 160 000 historical and contemporary images.
- William Osler Photo Collection The William Osler Photo Collection, Osler Library, McGill University was made possible through a generous donation from the John P. McGovern Foundation, and the support of the Friends of the Osler Library