Skip to main content

History of Medicine: Osleriana

Resources for research on Sir William Osler

  • Ask Osleriana A searchable database of Osler essays, such as the collection "Aequanimitas and Other Essays" and Harvey Cushing's biography "The Life of Sir William Osler" (1925). There are also abstracts of papers given at some of the annual meetings of the American Osler Society.
  • Celebrating the Contributions of William Osler, 1849-1919 An online collection of photographs, full text reproductions of some works and letters, plus some biographical information created by the Alan Mason Chesney Medical Archives of the Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions.
  • Digitised Osler material in the Internet Archive, including Osler's note and memo books (BO 7665 and 7666).
  • Profiles in Science, section on William Osler.  This site features digitized documents and photographs drawn from the National Library of Medicine, The Osler Library and The Alan Mason Chesney Medical Archives at Johns Hopkins University.
  • Osler, Sir William Brief biography by Dr. Charles Roland in the Dictionary of Canadian Biography.
  • University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey Page created to celebrate the 100th. anniversary of the Medical Library Association, of which Sir William Osler was a founder.
  • William Osler Letter Index An index to the thousands of letters to and from Sir William Osler and other material collected by Dr. Harvey Cushing (1869-1939) for his 1925 biography The Life of William Osler held by the Osler Library of the History of Medicine, McGill University.  Indexes to Osler letters held in other collections in the Osler Library will also be added.
  • William Osler Photo Collection This site, created by the Osler Library, McGill University, contains approximately 400 photographs that chronicles Sir William's life from his childhood in the Canadian wilderness to his medical education at McGill University, his innovative days as a doctor and teacher in Canada and the United States, and the final years of his life in Oxford, England.  There are also images of his wife Grace, son Revere and other family members. The site was made possible through a generous donation from the John P. McGovern Foundation.
  • Works of Sir William Osler The John P. McGovern Historical Collections and Research Center, in Houston, Texas, has digitised a number of Sir William Osler’s works published in journals or monographs from 1881–1919.

 

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice