Skip to main content
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (ProQuest)
Indexes books, book chapters, and journals related to anthropology, economics, politics and sociology.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)
Provides abstracts of journal articles, citations to book reviews, and abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers in political science and international relations.
- International Political Science Abstracts (EBSCO)
Indexes journals related to political science, international relations
- PAIS International (ProQuest)
Indexes journals and magazines related to global public policy and social issues. Includes PAIS Archive, a retrospective index of publications from 1915 - 1976.
- CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Full text documents and citations from international relations journals, policy briefs by international think tanks.
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Indexes worldwide scholarship in history and the social sciences, covering topics from 1450 to the present.
- Francis (EBSCO)
Multilingual, multidisciplinary database covering the humanities and social sciences.
- JSTOR and Political Science on JSTOR
Retrospective scholarly journals (there is a 3-5 gap for most journals).
- Social Sciences Citation Index (via Web of Science)
Multidisciplinary database. Includes citation-searching functions.
- ABSEES (American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies) (EBSCO)
Multidisciplinary database that covers East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union
- Africa-Wide - NiPAD , 19th century to present(EBSCO)
Search across 40 integrated international databases that index literature related to Africa
- America: History and Life (EBSCO)
Indexes scholarly articles about American history and government up to the present
- Bibliography of Asian Studies
Indexes western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia
- CBCA (Canadian Business & Current Affairs)
Largest source of Canadian Information, including past and current content.
- HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) Online
Index to journal articles about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
- Index Islamicus (Brill)
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world
- Index to Jewish Periodicals (EBSCO)
Index to Jewish thought and contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs
- Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies (EBSCO)
Indexes research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa
- PRISMA (ProQuest)
Full-text articles in the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin.
Guides to international legal research. Published by the Hauser Global Law School Program at NYU School of Law. Highly recommended!
- Constitutional Documents International Constitutional Law Project
Constitutions of the world's countries.
Official journal of the European Union; EU treaties, legislation, case-law, and legislative proposals.
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (Ovid)
Access to legal literature worldwide, covering all forms of foreign (non-Anglo-American) law.
- Index to Legal Periodicals & Books (Wilson)
Indexes articles from the most important legal periodicals and law books.
Online legal library of UK, EU and Irish case law from 1163 to the present.
- LegalTrac (Gale)
Index to Canadian and American legal literature.
Legal information, international news and business information.
- PARLIT Database (Inter-Parliamentary Union)
Parliamentary law and practice index.
- United Nations Treaty Collection
Includes League of Nations and UN Treaty Series.
- Cold War Files: Interpreting History Through Documents
Historical materials by governments on all sides of the Cold War.
- Digital National Security Archive
Digital copies of declassified US government documents.
- Center for International Development and Conflict Management
Interdisciplinary research center at the University of Maryland. that seeks to understand and prevent conflict. The site includes publications as well as a significant data set: the Minorities at Risk Project
- Jane’s Military and Security Assessments
Data, intelligence reports, and analysis related to national and international defence, security, and risk developments.
- National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism
Publications and datasets, including the Global Terrorism Database and the Terrorism & Preparedness Data Resource Center
- Peace Research Abstracts, 2000 -
Articles in areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology.
- Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI)
- Facts on international relations and security trends database
- Multilateral peace operations database
- Data on military expenditure, arms transfers, arms production
- Database on national export control systems
- SIPRI Yearbook: World Armaments and Disarmament
- The National Security Archive
- AccessUN (Readex)
Indexes UN documents and publications from 1946-present.
- United Nations Official Documents (ODS)
Full-text U.N. masthead documents from 1993-present, and resolutions from 1946-present.
- United Nations Bibliographic Information System (UNBISNET)
Catalogue of United Nations(UN) documents and publications indexed by the UN Dag Hammarskjöld Library and the Library of the UN Office at Geneva. Also included are Voting Records and Indexes to Speeches.
- Centre Virtuel de la Connaissance sur l’Europe (CVCE)
Contains 15,000+ documents on the historical and institutional development of the European Union from 1945 to the present day. Includes photos, audio and video clips, posters and cartoons, maps, news articles, personal correspondence, government documents, and more.
E-book collection of publications from international governmental organizations (International Labor Organization, International Organization for Migration, UN AIDS, WHO)
- NBER Working Papers (National Bureau of Economic Research)
Economic policy working papers.
- OECD iLibrary (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development)
OECD publications and policy research working papers.
- World Bank e-Library
World Bank publications and policy research working papers.
Library Resources Key
- McGill users only
- Open access resource
- Free resource
- In-library-use only
- Catalogue record