Political Science

1. Sources for Background Information

1.1 Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

• Encyclopedia of Russian History (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
• Encyclopedia of Contemporary Russian Culture
• Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe : from the Congress of Vienna to the fall of communism
• The Modern Encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet History

1.2 Country Profiles

• Eastern Europe, Russia and Central Asia from Europa World Plus
  Thematic information and background on individual countries, including government structure, statistics, history, current events
• Nations in Transit
  Analyzes political reform and the transition to democracy in the former Communist states of Europe and Eurasia. Includes general country reports and detailed data to quantify democracy, civil society, and governance.

1.3 Biographies

• Leaders of Russia
  Lists historical and current leaders at regional and federal levels of government.
• The President of the Russian Federation
  Official government site. Available in English and Russian.
• Brief biographies
  Maintained by Russia Profile.Org
• The Biographical Dictionary of the Former Soviet Union
• Who Was Who in the Soviet Union
• Who's Who in Russia

1.4 Directories

• Parties & Organizations in Russia 2003/2004

2. Searching the Library Catalogue

WorldCat - Library Catalogue/Discovery Tool

• Finding Books, etc
  Use WorldCat to find books, journals, articles, and other resources, in both print or electronic format. Your search will cover McGill's entire collection of resources, and can be expanded to include the collections of libraries worldwide.

Classic - Library Catalogue

• Finding Books, etc
  Use the classic catalogue to search for print books, journals, DVDs, and other items that are in McGill's collection.

3. Core and Additional Databases

3.1 Core Databases

• American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES) (EBSCO)
• International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (ProQuest)
  Listing of academic articles published in social science journals.
• Web of Science (ISI)
  Multidisciplinary database covering science, arts, humanities, and social sciences.
• Central and Eastern European Online Library (C.E.E.O.L.)
  full text PDF articles from 813 humanities and social science journals. Includes English and central, south, and eastern European languages

3.2 News Sources

• Universal Database of Russian Central Newspapers
  English and Russian content, 1980 though present.
• Factiva
  international news and business information
• Keesing’s World News Archive, 1931 -
  monthly collected world news reports
• LEXIS-NEXIS
  legal information, international news and business information
• Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS)
• ISI Emerging Markets Information Service
  country reports, news articles, financial statements, industry analyses, macroeconomic statistics
• Pravda
  1912-2009

3.3 Multidisciplinary Databases

• Universal databases: Social sciences & humanities
  Major Russian periodicals on social sciences and humanities including all 31 journals of the Russian Academy of Sciences
• Proquest Research Library (Proquest)
• CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
• PAIS International (ProQuest)
• European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (EBSEES)
• Federal State Statistics Service
• International Relations and Security Network (ISN)
  full-text materials on international relations, area studies, international business, security and military studies, comparative studies, and human rights, including a section on Eurasia

3.4 Russian journals published in English translation

• Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press and Military & Security Periodicals
• Russian Politics and Law
• International Affairs: A Russian Journal of World Politics, Diplomacy and International Relations
• Military Thought: A Russian Journal of Military Theory and Strategy

4. Selected Internet Resources

• McGill Department of Russian and Slavic Studies
• REESWeb
  Based at the University of Pittsburgh, the best site for Russian and Eastern European Internet resources
• Guide to East European and Slavic Library Collections on the Internet
  from the American Association of Teachers of Slavic and East European Languages
• Material on Russian Federation Law in English: Selection of Sources
  By Lucy Cox, Rutgers University Law Library
• Levada Center  - Russian non-governmental research organization. Contains public opinion polls.