Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Science Literacy Week @ McGill: Home

Events happening across campus during science literacy week

Past SLW events at McGill

September 21 - 27, 2020

Take a look at this year's exciting events and science at play activities at McGill University in Montreal - and online - for Science Literacy Week!

Monday
September 21
Tuesday
September 22
Wednesday
September 23
Thursday
September 24
Friday
September 25
Saturday
September 26
Sunday
September 27

Workshop, 2 p.m.: The Art of Explaining
Science to Non-Specialists
 with Dr. Diane Dechief.


Webinar, 4:30 p.m.: What is DRAW? Learn about the Data Rescue: Archives and Weather (DRAW) Project.

Video: Masterclass in Law and Policy: Intellectual Property and Science Literacy from the Centre for Intellectual Property Policy (CIPP) and the Faculty of Law. [publicly available]

Talk, 10:30 a.m.: Urban Heat Island effect with Prof. Raja Sengupta 


Webinar, 11 a.m.: How to DRAW - Transcribe weather ledgers with the Data Rescue: Archives and Weather (DRAW) Project. 


Workshop, 11:30 a.m.: Keeping Up with Artificial Intelligence - AI Literacy 


Virtual Homecoming event, 2:30 p. m.: Reality to Virtual - Creating Gateways to the Past in McGill's Library of the Future 


Webinar, 4:30 p.m.: How to DRAW - Transcribe weather ledgers with the Data Rescue: Archives and Weather (DRAW) Project. 

Webinar, 4:30 p.m.: What is DRAW? Learn about the Data Rescue: Archives and Weather (DRAW) Project. 


Book club, 5:30 p.m.: Data feminism, by Catherine D'Ignazio and Lauren F Klein, more details to come 


Online Cutting Edge Lecture in Science, 6 p.m.: Freshwater Futures for Canada and the World. Brought to you by the Redpath Museum. 

Webinar, 11 a.m.: What is DRAW? Learn about the Data Rescue: Archives and Weather (DRAW) Project. 

Virtual Homecoming event, 10 a. m.: Online tour of building stones and fossils. Brought to you by the Redpath Museum. 

Virtual Homecoming event, 10 a. m.: Trees of McGill University Online Tour. Brought to you by the Redpath Museum. 


De-Stress + Sketch Online, SLW edition! Visual Arts Collection

 

Temporary exhibition

Highlights from the Science...

Visit our temporary digital exhibition on Flickr to celebrate Science Literacy Week 2020.

"Tiger" from the Taylor White Collection. By Peter Paillou, c.1720-90. Blacker Wood Natural History Collection.

 

Contact April Colosimo or Rebecca Nicholson with questions or for more information. For additional information about Science Literacy Week across the country, please visit the Science Literacy Week website.


      Graphos

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice