Skip to Main Content
Chansons, chansonniers
- Fallows, David. A Catalogue of Polyphonic Songs, 1415-1480. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1999.
- ML128 P13 F35 1999
- Catalogue of all polyphonic songs from the years 1415–80 in any language
- Includes texts and titles of lost songs
- Basic reference work on the 15th-century chanson
- Occasional use of RISM sigla
- Thematic incipits only, for texted songs
- Catalogue de la Chanson Française à la Renaissance
- Catalogue of c. 9000 chansons, monophonic and polyphonic, from print and manuscript sources between c. 1480 and 1600
- Catalogue description by Annie Coeurdevey
- Includes list of sources for each chanson, as well as incipits and a musicXML file
- Contains commentary and references to modern editions
- Les livres de Chansons Nouvelles de Nicolas Duchemin, 1549-1568
- Includes facsimiles and modern scores of all the chansons printed by an important French music publisher
- Perkins, Leeman L., and Howard B. Garey, eds. The Mellon chansonnier. 2 vols. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1979.
- M1495 M513 M4
- Facsimile and transcription (on facing pages) of a 15th-cent. manuscripts in Yale University Libraries
Italian-texted music other than the madrigal (frottola, villotta, etc.)
- Jeppesen, Knud. La frottola. 3 vols. Acta Jutlandica. Copenhagen: Munksgaard, 1968-1970.
- ML2633 J47 1968
- Includes discussion and inventories of the all the sources of Italian texted polyphony c. 1480-1530
- Also includes a list of popular tunes and texts cited in Italian texted songs
- Le frottole Petrucci. Series editor Francesco Luisi.
- M1547 F73 P4
- Series including modern editions of seven of the ten surviving Frottola books published by Ottaviano Petrucci, 1504-1514
- Includes extensive critical commentaries in Italian
Madrigals
- Vogel, Emil, Lesure François, and Claudio Sartori. Bibliografia della musica italiana vocale profana pubblicata dal 1500 al 1700. Nuova ed. interamente rifatta e aumentata con gli indici dei musicisti, poeti, cantanti, dedicatari e dei capoversi dei testi letteraried. Pomezia: Staderini, 1977.
- ML120 I8 V816 1977
- Inventories of all printed sources single-composer prints of the madrigal from 1500 to 1700, with extensive indices
- Lewis Hammond, Susan. The Madrigal: A Research and Information Guide. 1st ed. Routledge Music Bibliographies. New York: Routledge, 2011.
- Lincoln, Harry B. The Italian Madrigal and Related Repertories: Indexes to Printed Collections, 1500-1600. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1988.
- ML128 M2 L56 1988
- Inventories and incipits of all the collections (including more than one composer) of Italian madrigal prints in the 16th century.
- The Italian Madrigal Resource Center
- Includes modern transcriptions of hundreds of madrigals, available in pdf and midi, and a pdf of the thext and translation
- Registration required to download scores
- MODE: Marenzio online digital edition (beta version)
- Includes a complete catalogue of Marenzio’s secular music
- Contains an online critical edition of one book of madrigals (more coming soon)
Motets
- Online motet database (print and MS)
- Latin-texted, non-strophic, polyphonic compositions apart from settings of the Ordinary of the Mass
- Manuscript and printed motets 1475–1600
- All works designated as motets and Mass Propers as well as any additional compositions that contain characteristics of these genres
- Prints are identified with RISM sigla
- Manuscripts are identified with CC sigla
- Thomas, Jennifer Swinger. “The Sixteenth-Century Motet: A Comprehensive Survey of the Repertory and Case Studies of the Core Texts, Composers, and Repertory.” 3 vols. PhD diss., University of Cincinnati, 1999.
- ML3275 T46 1999a
- Additional information on the Online Motet Database and its contents
- Lists manuscripts, composers, texts, and provenance information
- Provides written descriptions of how the database is organized
- Lincoln, Harry B. The Latin Motet: Indexes to Printed Collections, 1500-1600. Wissenschaftliche Abhandlungen (Institute of Mediaeval Music); Bd. 59. Ottawa: Institute of Mediaeval Music, 1993.
- ML128 M6 L56 1993
- Index to motet printed collections
- Single parts of larger work such as Masses or magnificats that are found in books labeled motets are included
- Full Latin Masses, the magnificat, and the lauda are excluded
- 19,000 melodic incipits (in staff notation) from 7,000 pieces of vocal polyphony in over 300 collections
- Text incipits of 400 instrumental pieces
- Uses RISM numbers
- Modern editions including transcriptions and facsimiles are cited
