Print and manuscript sources of Renaissance music (1400–1600)

These catalogues list all the publications of individual publishers, with detailed information about many aspects of the music and the printing business; some include inventories of individual prints. 

• Boorman, Stanley. Ottaviano Petrucci: Catalogue raisonné. New York: Oxford University Press, 2006.
  • ML112 B75 2006
• Bernstein, Jane A. Music Printing in Renaissance Venice: The Scotto Press, 1539-1572. New York : Oxford University Press, 1998.
  • ML405 B47 1998
• Lewis, Mary S. Antonio Gardano, Venetian Music Printer, 1538-1569: A Descriptive Bibliography and Historical Study. Garland Reference Library of the Humanities, Vol. 718-719. 3 vols. New York: Garland Pub, 1988-2005.
  • ML134.5 G47 L5 1988, v.1-3
    • Vol. 1: 1538–1549
    • Vol. 2: 1550–1559
    • Vol. 3: 1560–1569
• Agee, Richard J. The Gardano Music Printing Firms, 1569–1611. Eastman Studies in Music, 11. Rochester: University of Rochester Press, 1998.
  • ML145 G25 A33 1998
• Chapman, Catherine Weeks. "Andrea Antico." PhD diss., Harvard University, 1964.
• Cusick, Suzanne G. Valerio Dorico: Music Printer in Sixteenth-Century Rome. Ann Arbor, Mich.: UMI Research Press, 1981.

• Campagne, Augusta. Simone Verovio: Music Printing, Intabulations and Basso Continuo in Rome around 1600. 1 online resource vol. Wiener Veröffentlichungen Zur Musikgeschichte 13. Vienna: Böhlau, 2018.
• Carter, Tim. "Music Publishing in Italy, c.1580–c.1625: Some Preliminary Observations." Royal Musical Association Research Chronicle 20, no. 1 (January 1, 1987): 19–37. (Amandino, Vincenti)
• Kranias, Alison. “Verovio's keyboard intabulations and domestic music making in the late Renaissance.”  MA thesis, McGill University, 2006.

• Freedman, Richard, and Philippe Vendrix. Les livres de Chansons Nouvelles de Nicolas Duchemin, 1549–1568. 
  • Includes facsimiles and modern scores of all the chansons printed by an important French music publisher
  • There is a general discussion of the press under “Learn” 
• Heartz, Daniel. Pierre Attaingnant: Royal Printer of Music: A Historical Study and Bibliographical Catalogue. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1969.
  • ML427 A87 H4  
• Lesure, François, and Geneviève Thibault. Bibliographie des éditions d’Adrian le Roy et Robert Ballard (1551–1598). Publications de la Société Française de Musicologie, 2nd ser., vol. 9. Paris: Heugel, 1955. 
  • ML145 L45
  • Supplement in Revue de Musicologie 40 (1957): 166–72. 
• Pogue, Samuel F. Jacques Moderne: Lyons Music Printer of the Sixteenth Century. Travaux d’humanisme et renaissance, 101. Geneva: Libraire Droz, 1969.
  • ML427 M63 P6
• Dobbins, Frank. Music in Renaissance Lyons. Oxford Monographs on Music. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1992. 
  • Also available in print: ML270.8 L95 D6 1992

• Krummel, Donald William, and Lessing J. Rosenwald Reference Collection (Library of Congress). English Music Printing, 1553–1700. Bibliographical Society Publication, 1971. London: Bibliographical Society, 1975. 
  • ML112 K7x
• Smith, Jeremy L. Thomas East and Music Publishing in Renaissance England. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2003. 
  • ML427 E27 S65 2003

• Teramoto, Mariko, and Armin Brinzing. Katalog der Musikdrucke des Johannes Petreius in Nürnberg. Catalogus musicus 14. Kassel: Bärenreiter, 1993.
  • ML113 C35 v.14
• Jackson, Susan. “Berg and Neuber: Music Printers in Sixteenth-Century Nuremberg.” PhD diss., City University of New York, 1998. 
• Jackson, Susan. “Who is Katherine? The Women of the Berg & Neuber – Gerlach – Kauffmann Firms,” Music Printing in Antwerp and Europe in the 16th Century: Antwerp 1995. (Yearbook of the Alamire Foundation, 2 (1997). 
  • ML265.2 M87 1997
  • See the Grove Music Online article on Katherina Gerlach

• Forney, Kristine Karen. “Tielman Susato, Sixteenth-Century Music Printer: An Archival and Typographical Investigation.” PhD diss., University of Kentucky, 1978.
  • ML427 S88 F67 1978a 
• Bain, Susan Elizabeth. “Music Printing in the Low Countries in the Sixteenth Century.” PhD diss., Cambridge University, 1974.
  • ML112 B34 1974a Micro film (Microfilm only)
• Weaver, Robert Lee. A Descriptive Bibliographical Catalog of the Music Printed by Hubert Waelrant and Jan De Laet. Detroit Studies in Music Bibliography, No. 73. Warren, Mich.: Harmonie Park Press, 1994.
  • ML145 W26 B4 1994 
• Weaver, Robert Lee. Waelrant and Laet: Music Publishers in Antwerp’s Golden Age. Detroit Monographs in Musicology/Studies in Music No. 15. Warren, Mich.: Harmonie Park Press, 1995. 
  • ML405 W43 1995

• McGill users only
• Open access resource
• Free resource
• In-library use
• Catalogue record