Skip to Main Content

Print and manuscript sources of Renaissance music (1400–1600)

General databases

  • RISM: Répertoire international de sources musicales (International Inventory of Musical Sources) 
    • RISM Online Catalogue  
      • General information on RISM
      • Open-access database, containing over 1.2 million records for musical sources, both prints and manuscripts
      • Includes inventories and information on provenance
      • Includes music manuscripts, printed music, libretti, and treatises
      • Provides links to many digital images, especially those in the Bavarian State library (Bayerische Staatsbibliothek; see below)
    • RISM print volumes (ML113 I6):
  • DRM: Digital Resources for Musicology
    • Created by the Center for Computer Assisted Research in the Humanities, at Stanford University.
    • Links to open access repositories, including digitized music manuscripts, digital score reprints, genre based projects, and more                    
  • Wikipedia page of digital music collections
    • List of digital music collections containing music from any time period
  • Digitale Sammlungen
    • Part of the Munich Digitization Center (MDZ)
    • Largest and fastest growing digital collection in Germany
    • Dedicated to the digitization and publication of cultural heritage

Location and contacts

Profile Photo
Music Library Staff
Contact:
Elizabeth Wirth Music Building
3rd floor - 527 Sherbrooke Street West
Montreal, Quebec H3A 1E3
514-398-4692
Website
Subjects: Music

Resource key

  • McGill users only
  • Open access resource
  • Free resource
  • In-library use
  • Catalogue record

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice