Skip to Main Content

Rare Books & Archival Collections Reference Guide

COVID-19 CLOSURE

In response to new measures announced by McGill University and the Government of Quebec, the Library is temporarily closing most physical spaces and all stack areas until January 23, 2022 inclusive. Study Hubs, HathiTrust Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS), a temporary Pickup Service, and the ROAAr Digitization on Demand Service are reinstated. Library staff will continue to provide virtual reference during service hours. More information available here.

Welcome to the Rare Books and Special Collections Subject Guide

Rare Books and Special Collections actively supports the teaching, learning and research needs of McGill students and faculty from all disciplines, and the wider scholarly community. 

The primary holdings are in the humanities and social sciences however they also encompass the rare book collections of the former Blacker-Wood Library of Biology, the Blackader-Lauterman Library of Architecture and Art, the Islamic Studies Library and the Macdonald Campus Library. The John Bland Canadian Architecture Collection is part of the collection. In many cases, the rare book and special collections in the Marvin Duchow Music Library, the Nahum Gelber Law Library and the Osler Library of the History of Medicine complement and supplement the holdings of the Rare Books collection. Click for information about our collections.

Rare Books and Special Collections

Contact a Librarian/Archivist

Rare Books and Special Collections
rarebooks.library@mcgill.ca
514-398-4711

     
 

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice