Guides: Physics: Finding articles

Physics databases

arXiv.org - arXiv is an openly accessible, moderated repository for scholarly articles in physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology and statistics.
Inspec - Covers the fields of physics, electronics, computer science, electrical, control, production and mechanical engineering. Look for "Cited by in Scopus" to find citing articles.
INSPIRE - High-energy physics literature.
SCOAP³ - Open access high-energy physics articles sponsored by the international SCOAP³ initiative.
ADS (Astrophysics Data System) - Publications in astronomy, astrophysics, physics, and arXiv e-prints.
SIMBAD Astronomical Database - Basic data, cross-identifications, bibliography and measurements for astronomical objects outside the solar system.
- The Unified Astronomy Thesaurus may help with astronomical concepts.
Einstein Papers Project - Collected papers of Albert Einstein.

Science & technology databases

Compendex - Engineering fields not covered by Inspec.
CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform - Comprehensive coverage of the chemistry and related fields from the Chemical Abstracts Service. Requires registration.
MathSciNet
Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Index
Materials Science Index

Multidisciplinary citation indexes

Web of Science: Selectively indexes journals based on impact.
Scopus: Larger than Web of Science (less selective).
Google Scholar: Scholarly version of Google (the least selective of the databases with citations coming from alternative sources, such as presentation slides).
- Get the most out of Google Scholar (PDF)
- Add McGill Library links in Google Scholar

Discovery tools

Semantic Scholar: Get one sentence TLDR for journal articles.
Dimensions (free but requires registration): Includes AI-driven summarization of articles.
Visit the Generative AI Product Tracker, which includes generative AI discovery tools.

Databases A-Z

There are hundreds of databases available through McGill Library. Check out the Databases A-Z list by alphabet or by subject.

Search strategy

Formulate a research question.
Identify the main concepts.
Brainstorm synonyms for the main concepts.
Use Boolean operators, truncation, and phrase searching to build a search (see search tips below).
Try your search out in different article databases (their coverage of the literature varies).
Create a login in the database to save your searches and set up email alerts.

Search tips

OR results include any or all keywords (used to broaden a search)

AND results include all keywords (used to narrow a search)

* asterisk is used to search variations on a word stem (truncation)

“” quotation marks are used to search for an exact phrase

Example:

(nanolithography OR “nano lithography”) AND application*

The () parentheses are used to control the order in which Boolean operators are resolved. Operations within parentheses are resolved first followed by those outside the parentheses.

Download the search plan to help with building your search.

Search plan

Librarian

April Colosimo

she/her

Email me

Contact:

Subjects: Chemistry, Mathematics and statistics, Physics

Concept mapping

Concept mapping can help you articulate, clarify, and organize your knowledge of a research project. Maps can grow with you, and be used to communicate your progress.

Visit our concept mapping guide to learn more!

Instructions to map out your research (PDF)

Resource key

McGill users only
Open access resource
Free resource
In-library use
Catalogue record