World Islamic & Middle East studies

Confidential Print: Middle East covers the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the nineteenth century, the Middle East Conference of 1921, the Mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia and the Suez Crisis in 1956, the partition of Palestine, post-Suez Western foreign policy and the Arab-Israeli conflict.

Gale Primary Sources includes a number collections, among which Archives Unbound:

• Aden: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1880-1906
• Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963: Records of the U.S. State Department Central Classified Files
• Afghanistan in 1919: The Third Anglo-Afghan War
• British Campaign in Mesopotamia, 1914-1918
• British Mandate in Palestine, Arab-Jewish Relations, and the U.S. Consulate at Jerusalem, 1920-1944
• Democracy in Turkey, 1950-1959: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files
• Egypt: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1853-1962
• Evangelism and the Syria-Lebanon Mission: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1869-1910
• Evangelism in Iran: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1847-1911
• French Mandate in The Lebanon, Christian-Muslim Relations, and the U.S. Consulate at Beirut, 1919-1935
• Iran (Persia): Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1883-1959
• Iraq: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1888-1944
• King and the People in Morocco, 1950-1959: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Morocco
• Lebanon, Palestine, Syria, Trans-Jordan: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1836-1944
• Libya: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1796-1885
• Middle East Series Online 1: Arab-Israeli Relations 1917-1970
• Middle East Series Online 2: Iraq 1914-1974
• Morocco: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1797-1929
• Palestine and Israel: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1959
• Persian Gulf States and Yemen, 1950-1959
• Records of the Persian Gulf War
• Saudi Arabia: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1930-1959
• Turkey: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1802-1949
• U.S. Middle East Peace Policy and America's Role in the Middle East Peace Process, 1989-1993
• U.S. Operations Mission to Saudi Arabia, 1950-1955: Correspondence and Subject Files of the Office of the Director

The Listener: historical archives (1929-1991) was a weekly publication, established by the BBC in 1929 as the medium for reproducing radio – and later, television – programmes in print. It is the only record and means of accessing the content of many early broadcasts. In addition to expanding on the intellectual broadcasts of the week, it also discussed contemporary issues (including political issues), and regularly reviewed new books. 10% of its content was actually not connected to broadcasting at all. What united the very diverse articles was the BBC’s cultural mission of educating the masses. Having chronicled the transformative rise of radio and television, The Listener finally ceased publication in 1991, just on the dawn of the internet age.

PAIS Archive (1915-1976) consists of indexing and abstracting of articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs.

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.

Dar al-Mandumah provides access to a series of databases with full-text content of Arabic scientific conferences, dissertations and academic journals from 1921 to present day.

JSTOR A subject searchable index of journals on-line with JSTOR. Retrieves full-text back files of scholarly journals, some of which date back to the 1800's. Does not include articles more recent than five years ago.

ProQuest Research Library A multidisciplinary database covering disciplines within the humanities and social sciences.

Web of Science Scholarly articles for medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.It also includes citation indexes

A selected list of databases pertinent to Islamic and Middle East studies is available here, and a complete list of databases accessible to McGill affiliated researchers is available here.