Contains diaries, letters and memoirs of previously unpublished manuscripts such as the letters of Amos Wood and his wife and the diary of Maryland Planter William Claytor. The collection also includes biographies, an extensive bibliography of the sources in the database, and material licensed from The Civil War Day-by-Day by E.B. Long.
Brings together a wide range of written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior. For study in the areas of politics, economics, history, psychology, environmental studies, religion, area studies, linguistics, and geography, the database will contain more than over 100,000 pages of full-text material at completion, including previously unpublished material from major archives.
Alternate Name(s)
Atiku : The Northern and Arctic Studies Portal
Publication produced by the Institut nordique du Québec (INQ), a group of Quebec experts in the field of northern and Arctic research. The aim is to "integrate scientific knowledge with that of local communities, including Indigenous knowledge, and partner with the public and private sectors to develop the Canadian Arctic and Northern Quebec for future generations, providing clean energy, healthy ecosystems, viable infrastructures, economic prosperity, vibrant cultures, and adapted education and healthcare systems".
Brings together a wide range of written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over. For study in the areas of politics, economics, history, psychology, environmental studies, religion, area studies, linguistics, and geography, the database contains more than over 100,000 pages of full-text material at completion, including tens of thousands of pages of previously unpublished material from major archives.
This website contains over 3,000 documents focused on six different phases of Black Freedom:
Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860)
The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877)
Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932)
The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945)
The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975)
The Contemporary Era (1976-2000)
Database containing full-text doctoral dissertations and master's theses from China. Dating from 1984, this collection covers basic science, engineering technology, agriculture, medicine, philosophy, humanities, social sciences and other fields.
Decolonization: Politics and Independence in Former Colonial and Commonwealth Territories brings together material from within former British colonies and Commonwealth nations, alongside some from former French and Portuguese territories, to provide valuable primary source material created for local audiences by local actors during a period of enormous global change. After the Second World War, decolonization movements around the world gathered pace, and from the small port colony of Aden to the vast Indian sub-continent, new borders were set, and new nations built.
The study of environmental history emerged in the 1960s, inspired by the popularity of emerging environmentalist movements, but concerns about human intervention and interaction with the natural environment can be traced much further back. Starting in the late nineteenth century, in direct response to the Industrial Revolution, forces in social and political spheres across the globe struggled to balance the good of the public and the planet against the economic exploitation of resources. In Environmental History, researchers may explore the history of the environment and conservation efforts across the globe from the late 1800s onwards.
Includes articles, advertisements, and covers with searchable text and article-level metadata. Footwear News was launched as the first dedicated news periodical of the footwear industry and the archive preserves 75+ years of essential global industry news, analysis, and coverage of seasonal trends. Coverage: 1945 - current
These engaging and unfiltered interviews originate from the groundbreaking 1980s TV series on Hindi Cinema, Movie Mahal, and subsequent TV programmes produced by Kabir. This material marks the first time that a significant number of Indian film practitioners were filmed for a British broadcaster. Their rich insights are a window into the industry and the wider social and cultural context of Hindi cinema. Other collection highlights include behind-the-scenes photographs from film sets and popular Indian film posters from the British Film Institute (BFI).
Contains high-definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies. Through a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre, the collections offer a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive.
Contains 244 plays by 48 playwrights representing the stories and creative energies of American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the twentieth century. More than half of the works are previously unpublished, and hard to find, representing groups such as Cherokee, Métis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Lenape, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, Hawaiian/Samoan, and others. Together, the plays demonstrate Native theater’s diversity of tribal traditions and approaches to drama—melding conventional dramatic form with ancient storytelling and ritual performance elements, experimenting with traditional ideas of time and narrative, or challenging Western dramatic structure.
With this resource, theatre students and researchers can now truly see "behind the scenes" of the world's greatest dramatic performances. It is the first comprehensive, international collection that covers all aspects of theater production design, from the 17th century through to the present day, including scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, and makeup. Bringing together essential books and periodicals, archival material, and specially commissioned instructional videos, the collection will cover design concepts for a broad range of performance types, including dance, theatre, opera, and music.
Founded by Robert Smiley in 1846, the Hamilton Spectator has been a cornerstone of Hamilton’s history for over 175 years. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1852 - 2010
The Waterloo Region Record is the daily newspaper of Southern Ontario reporting on stories of importance to the communities of Kitchener, Waterloo, and Cambridge. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1893 - 2010
Public Health Archives: Public Health in Modern America, 1890-1970 documents the rise of the twentieth-century public health system in the United States through correspondence, reports, pamphlets, ephemera, and more. For scholars in the fields of American history, American studies, history of science and medicine, public health studies, sociology, political science, psychology, and economics, it documents through primary sources that record the evolution and impact of public health legislation, policies, and campaigns at the local, national, and federal levels, opening for researchers a new window on the roles played by key organizations and individuals to advance public health.
Religions of America traces the history and unique character of religious movements that originated in or were re-shaped by the United States during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
"Research Methods Primary Sources is an online learning tool for primary source literacy that can be used in classroom-based and online teaching, as well as for independent study.
Throughout history, revolution and protest movements have demanded the world’s attention and driven political and social change. To understand the impact and aftermath of these events, it is imperative to shine a historical lens on the ideologies, origins, goals and stakeholders that drove them. This is a research and learning database providing in one place comprehensive, comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of political processes through the lens of revolutions, protests, resistance and social movements. This collection examines the most studied and important events and themes related to revolution and protest from the 18th century through the 21st century. This collection will include at completion 175 hours of video, 100,000 pages of printed materials (personal papers, organizational and government documents, journals, books, reports, videos, monographs, and speeches), and more than 1,000 images. Content is provided by preeminent historical archives as well as video partners. The collection also provides links to websites that offer background for the curated primary sources and documentaries.
These high-definition, surround-sound recordings of William Shakespeare’s plays featuring the world’s best Shakespearean actors, like David Tennant, Sir Antony Sher, Paapa Essiedu, and Simon Russell Beale, and directors like Robin Lough and Dewi Humphrey. The Royal Shakespeare Company Collection brings The Tempest, King Lear, Hamlet and other famous performances filmed at the Royal Shakespeare Company’s Stratford-upon-Avon theater to classrooms around the world.
A full-text resource for methods in synthetic organic chemistry. Provides a critical review of the synthetic methodology developed from the early 1800s to-date for the entire field of organic and organometallic chemistry.
Social Work Online is a first-of-its-kind resource that pairs recently published social work textbooks along with compelling documentaries clinical demonstration videos, and engaging lectures that illustrate the complex and challenging realities social work students will face as practitioners. The content is structured around twelve of the most important topics in the social work curriculum, most of which are applicable worldwide.
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels is the first-ever scholarly online collection for researchers and students of adult comic books and graphic novels. This multi-part resource covers the full spectrum of this visual art form, from pre-comics code era works to modern sequential releases from artists the world over, and contains 200,000 pages of original material alongside interviews, commentary, criticism, and other supporting materials.
The resource brings together diaries and oral histories to enable students and researchers to explore the lives of hundreds of individuals from diverse backgrounds, from abolitionists to suffragists, and royalty to republicans. Vivid narratives cover a wide range of themes, including domestic life, travel, sport, feminism, gender fluidity, and class with the collection providing a platform for working class, LGBTQ+, and disabled women’s voices.
