Education literature
The mathematics and statistics education literature consists of both education research and the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL).
Education Research characteristics:
- Research in K-12 and higher education.
- Focus on generalizable knowledge.
Scholarship of Teaching and Learning characteristics:
- Higher education only.
- Study and reflection of teaching practices.
- Results are context specific.
Societies
Books
Finding mathematics and statistics education literature
Finding this literature is complicated because it is spread out over different sources. It is a little messy and definitely different from searching the mathematics and statistics literature. Keeping track of what works and what doesn't will help a lot.
Journals
There are a number of mathematics and statistics journals that publish articles related to teaching and learning:
Visit the Teaching Journals Directory from Kennesaw State University for a listing.
Databases
Mathematics and statistics databases:
Find out more from the Mathematics and Statistics library guide.
Education databases:
More databases can be found on the Education library guide.
Multidisciplinary databases:
Strategies
- Scan the contents of relevant journals.
- Follow references cited in papers.
- Follow papers that cite a paper of interest. This can be done using “Cited by” in Google Scholar. Scopus, or Web of Science.
- Identify important authors.
- Keep track of keywords. Some examples are offered below.
- Teaching and learning phrases for use in science and multidisciplinary databases:
- "scholarship of teaching and learning" (NOTE: Use quotation marks for exact phrases)
- SoTL
- "scholarship of teaching"
- "teaching and learning"
- "educational scholarship"
- "scholarly teaching"
- "excellence in teaching"
- "education research"
- Higher education keywords:
- “higher education”
- universit* (NOTE: The asterisk (*) truncation symbol can be used everywhere to pick up different word endings.)
- college*
- postsecondary OR “post secondary”
- undergraduate*
- Keywords for education and multidisciplinary databases:
- mathematics
- statistics
- science OR STEM
Grey literature
Grey literature is not controlled by commercial publishers so it can be trickier to find. It includes social media and blog posts, reports, and government documents. Start with your favourite search engine.
