Guides: LGBTQ+ Health: Core Databases

Core Databases

Suggested PubMed Search Strategy LGBTQ+ Population (adapted from Nova Scotia Health Library Services)
You may copy this string into the PubMed search box to retrieve articles relating to LGBTQ Health

(((((((transgender*[tw] OR "trans female"[tiab] OR "trans male"[tiab] OR transman[tiab] OR transmen[tiab] OR "trans men"[tiab] OR "trans people"[tiab] OR "trans woman"[tiab] OR transwoman[tiab] OR transwomen[tiab] OR transpeople[tiab] OR gender dysphori*[tw] OR gender transition*[tw] OR homosexuality[MeSH Terms] OR homosexual*[tw] OR gay[tiab] OR gays[tiab] OR LGBT*[tw] OR "sexual minority"[tw] OR "sexual minorities"[tw] OR lesbian*[tw] OR bisexuality[MeSH Terms] OR bisexual*[tw] OR transsexualism[MeSH Terms] OR transsexualism[tw] OR transgender*[tw] OR transsexual[tw] OR transsexuals[tw] OR transsexuality[tiab] OR sex reassignment[tw] OR msm[tiab] OR queer[tw] OR "sexual orientation"[tw] OR "sexual and gender minorities"[tiab] OR "same gender loving"[tiab] OR "same sex attracted"[tiab] OR "same sex couple"[tiab] OR "same sex couples"[tiab] OR "men who have sex with men"[tiab] OR WSW[tiab] OR "women loving women"[tiab] OR "women who have sex with women"[tiab] OR lesbianism[tiab] OR two-spirit*[tiab] OR gender minorit*[tw] OR gender varian*[tw] OR gender identit*[tw] OR genderqueer[tw] OR intersex*[tw] OR "Health Services for Transgender Persons"[Mesh] OR "Transgender Persons"[Mesh]))))

PubMed (McGill)
Contains 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central, publisher web sites and to the McGill Find Full Text linkresolver.
MEDLINE(R) (OVID) ALL, 1946-
- This link opens in a new window
Containing over 23 million of the latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,600 biomedicine and life sciences journals in nearly 40 languages
Embase Classic + Embase (Ovid)
- This link opens in a new window
Embase Classic 1947-1973.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (Ovid)
- This link opens in a new window
5 simultaneous users.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of dissertations from McGill University as well as 3,100 worldwide universities. Full-text PDFs available for all non-embargoed dissertations and theses from 1997 – forward, with select full text available prior to 1997.
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
PsycINFO 1806-present (Ovid)
- This link opens in a new window
Index database for psychology. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, pharmacology, physiology and linguistics.
* Quick reference guide - How to search PsycINFO
Scopus (Elsevier)
- This link opens in a new window
Curated abstract and citation database, updated daily with enriched data and linked scholarly content for Health, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. Worldwide peer-reviewed literature includes scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings.
Web of Science Core Collection (All Indexes)
- This link opens in a new window
Includes Citation Indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present), Book Citation Index– Science (2005-present), Book Citation Index– Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present). Chemical Indexes include: Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present, plus Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840), and Index Chemicus (1993-present).