Japanese Studies

Online archive of encyclopedia, dictionaries, reference compilations, and periodical resources (approximately 50 different sources).

Index to periodical articles published in Japanese, including those in former Japanese colonies, and including local periodicals not present in many other indexes. Coverage is from 1868 onwards. Merges data from various composite periodical indexes by Kokuritsu Kokkai Toshokan.

Authoritative guide to the current scholarship, written and reviewed by academic experts, with original commentary and annotations. Expert scholars share the trusted sources they use across a variety of academic disciplines. Sources are rigorously peer reviewed and vetted to ensure scholarly accuracy and objectivity. The interface guides users directly to the information, providing personalized citation lists and seamless links to full-text print and online content.

Dictionaries and encyclopedias (print and online) available at the McGill Library. The list is organized by Art -- Culture, History & Politics -- Film, Literature & Theater -- Japanese Language -- Religious Studies

v. 1. Premodern Japan in East Asia, c.500-1600 / edited by Hitomi Tonomura -- v. 2. Early modern Japan in Asia and the world, c. 1580 -1877 / edited by David L. Howell -- v. 3. The modern Japanese nation and empire, c.1868 to the twenty-first century / edited by Laura Hein. *As of October 2023, only volume 3 has been published.

The Cambridge History of Japanese Literature provides, for the first time, a history of Japanese literature with comprehensive coverage of the premodern and modern eras in a single volume. The book is arranged topically in a series of short, accessible chapters for easy access and reference, giving insight into both canonical texts and many lesser known, popular genres, from centuries-old folk literature to the detective fiction of modern times.

Online archive of historical documents of Japan concerning to the modern Japanese relations with other Asian countries. The sources of these documents are the National Archives of Japan, the Diplomatic Archives of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan, and the National Institute for Defense Studies of the Ministry of Defense of Japan.

A wide range of sources, by writers, diplomats, tourists, businessmen, missionaries and others, documenting the political, cultural and social history of Japan from 1400 to the 20th century. Highlights include: Medieval manuscripts relating to Japan, including an account by Marco Polo -- The logbook of William Adams (1564-1620), alias Miura Anjin, the first Englishman known to have visited Japan -- The journals, printed articles and other papers of William Elliot Griffis (1843-1928), American author, teacher and educational reformer in Japan.

- Module 1 features publications from the Church Missionary Society and the South American Missionary Society between 1804 and 2009.
- Module 2 features the publications of CMS medical mission auxiliaries, the work of the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society among women in Asia and the Middle East, newsletters from native churches and student missions in China and Japan, and 'home' material including periodicals aimed specifically at women and children subscribers. Articles, often in the form of letters authored by missionaries abroad, are enhanced by detailed illustrations and photographs of their surroundings, the mission community and the people among whom they worked.

Provides full-text searchable access to formerly restricted top level discussions and correspondence from the British Embassy and consulate in Japan. Includes memoranda, reports, minute sheets and correspondence, along with detailed assessments of key events, speeches, maps, and topics of special interest. Includes Japan-specific files from the FO 371 and FO 262 series and is supplemented by files from the Western and American Department papers in FO 371.

Provides digital access to the papers of Edward Sylvester Morse (1838-1925), an American polymath notable for his work in natural history, ethnography, archaeology and art history. Morse was invited to teach at Tokyo Imperial University in the 1870s and travelled extensively in Japan, recording his experiences in great detail and maintaining a deep interest in the country and its culture for the remainder of his life. This resource, a digital edition of Morse's papers, provides insights into Japan during the Mejii Era (1868-1912) along with Morse's numerous and valuable contributions to a wide range of academic disciplines.

Covers colonialism, politics, nationalism, military actions, government systems, economics, and geography of Japan, China, and Korea from the 1910s to 1980s.

Collections of the British Foreign Office and United States consular and diplomatic records that were generally maintained in the local consular or diplomatic posts and reflect the day-to-day accounting of the activities of the indigenous populations and their national governments, the expansion of trade, and the exercise of extraterritorial rights and treaty provisions.

All books published by the "Publishing Partners".

Books published since 1759. ("The University Press Library List" on The De Gruyter University Press Library (UPL).)

All books published by Oxford + books published by university presses on this list. Books published by Chicago, Cornell, Fordham, NYU, Princeton, Stanford and Yale since 2022 are NOT available on UPSO, but on De Gruyter.

List of Series included in Project MUSE.

Database of Asahi shinbun newspapers published from 1879 to the present. Also includes articles from the weekly magazines Aera as well as Shūkan Asahi, from the annual new-word dictionary Chiezō, Asahi shinbun jinbutsu dētabēsu, and Asahi shinbun rekishi shashin ākaibu.A newspaper database for Asahi shinbun published from 1879 to present. Also includes articles from the weekly magazines Aera as well as Shūkan Asahi, from the annual new-word dictionary Chiezō, Asahi shinbun jinbutsu dētabēsu, and Aashi shinbun rekishi shashin ākaibu.

AJW is the English-language digital version of The Asahi Shimbun.

Provides access to thousands of top newspapers and magazines just as they appear in print. Select "Japan" in "Countries" to browse the Japanese newspapers and magazines. Included are 毎日新聞, The Japan News, a variety of fashion magazines, etc. *See "Instructions for authenticating your PressReader app over EZproxy" on Mobile Apps and Technology Guide.

Provides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data.

"An index to the FBIS daily reports issued by the U.S. government covering political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues and events throughout the world. Translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world are the sources of this information"--NewsBank Infoweb home page

Includes international, national, local newspapers, and wire services, as well as radio and television transcripts. In Advanced Search, one can select sources, such as The Japan News -- Japan Daily Report.

Provides recent news content from the sources, including: Asian Wall Street Journal -- Asahi Evening News -- The Daily Yomiuri (Tokyo) -- The Japan News (Tokyo) -- Jiji Press English News Service Tokyo

CiNii (Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator) enables searching of information on academic papers published in academic society journals or university research bulletins, or included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database.

The on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) that covers all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present of principally the areas of humanities and the social sciences on the East, Southeast, and South Asia. *Click "Choose databases" (above the search box) to cross-search among all the EBSCO databases that the McGill Library subscribes to, including: Academic Search Complete -- Humanities International Index -- MLA International Bibliography.

Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline (Asian Studies), or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts.