Guides: Islamic thought & science: Sciences

Databases

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) offers scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.

Al-Manhal eLibrary gives access to over 100,000 full-text searchable publications (books, peer-reviewed journals, strategic studies, academic dissertations and educational videos) from the Arab world’s leading publishers on a wide-variety of topics including science and technology (and their history).

JSTOR is a subject searchable index of journals on-line with JSTOR. Retrieves full-text back files of scholarly journals, some of which date back to the 1800's. Does not include articles more recent than five years ago.

Post-classical Islamic Philosophy Database Initiative (PIPDI) is a McGill Initiative aiming to "create the infrastructure that is needed for a systematic investigation of the vast but severely understudied corpus of Islamic philosophical texts dating from 1100-1900 CE".

ProQuest Research Library is a multidisciplinary database covering disciplines within the humanities and social sciences.

Web of Science offers scholarly articles for medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.It also includes citation indexes.

A selected list of databases pertinent to Islamic Studies is available here, and a complete list of databases accessible to McGill affiliated researchers is available here.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia Islamica by Farhad Daftary (Editor); Wilferd Madelung (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9789004168602
Publication Date: 2008-07-10
The 16 volumes Encyclopaedia Islamica is due to become one of the major comprehensive reference works on Islam and the Muslim world. A unique feature is the attention given to aspects of Islamic heritage-particularly Shi'ism-which makes it complementary to other encyclopaedias.

Encyclopaedia of Islam. Second edition
- This link opens in a new window
Sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live.
The Encyclopaedia of Islam : Three
- This link opens in a new window
This edition sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live. The Third Edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam is an entirely new work, with new articles reflecting the great diversity of current scholarship. It is published in five substantial segments each year, both online and in print. The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world.

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World by Gale (Editor); Richard C. Martin (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780028662695
Publication Date: 2016-01-27
This new edition of the Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World is a two-volume set containing over 540 new and revised alphabetically-arranged entries. This beautifully illustrated set features includes more than 350 maps, charts, and photos.
Encyclopaedia of Islamic medicine, with a Greco-Roman back-ground by Hassan Kamal.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: folio WZ 13 K15e 1975
Publication Date: 1975
Encyclopedia of Sciences and Religions by Anne Runehov (Editor); Lluis Oviedo (Editor)
ISBN: 9781402082658
Publication Date: 2013-06-19
This "encyclopedia maps the (self)-identified disciplines and religious traditions that participate or might come to participate in the Science and Religion debate (...) by letting each representative of a discipline and tradition answer specific chosen questions. (...) The A-Z format throughout affords easy and user-friendly access to relevant information. Additionally, a systematic question-answer format across all Sciences and Religions entries affords efficient identification of specific points of agreement, conflict, and disinterest across and between sciences and religions. The extensive cross-referencing between key words, phrases, and technical language used in the entries facilitates easy searches."
The Oxford encyclopedia of philosophy, science, and technology in Islam by Ibrahim Kalin.
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2014
"Based on the 2009 publication 'The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World', this work includes complete coverage of Islamic philosophy, sciences, and technologies from the classical to the contemporary period. Containing scholarly overviews of the thinkers, movements, instruments, theories, institutions, processes, events, and historical developments related to Islamic classical history and the contemporary quest for knowledge, this encyclopaedia provides scholars and advanced students with in-depth surveys on the most important issues in the study of these topics, serving as the authoritative reference work on this important area of research."