Guides: Global Health: Databases

Core Databases

Global Health (Current + Archive, 1910-)
- This link opens in a new window
public health, tropical and communicable diseases, nutrition, helminthology, entomology and mycology in several languages

Global Index Medicus
Provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries.

Google Scholar
Web of Science Core Collection (All Indexes)
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary covering Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences, and STEM; useful when searching for articles citing an article
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary covering all branches of sciences; useful for searching for articles citing an article you already have

Additional Databases

ADA Nutrition Care Manual - American Dietetics Association
AgNIC - Agriculture Network Information Center

AGRICOLA
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the National Agricultural Library (NAL). Contains bibliographic records of materials acquired by the NAL and cooperating institutions in agricultural and related sciences. Coverage includes: agricultural administration, laws and regulations, economics, education, training and extension, engineering and products; animal science; aquatic sciences; chemistry; energy as related to agriculture; entomology; feed science; food science and food products; forestry; general agriculture; geography, meteriology, climatology and history; home economics and human ecology; human nutrition; institutional food service; life sciences; natural resources management and environmental pollution; pesticides; plant diseases; plant science and production; rural sociology; soil science; veterinary medicine. Coverage: 1970 - present
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Technological and engineering aspects of air, water and soil quality, environmental safety, sustainability and energy production.
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
Biological and Agricultural Index Plus (H.W. Wilson) (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
The subscription to this database was not renewed and access has now ended.

Canary Database - Animals as sentinels of human environmental health hazards
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management database (ProQuest) - Includes Health & Safety Science Abstracts, Pollution Abstracts, Toxicology Abstracts, TOXLINE

CAB Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
10 simultaneous users.
This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database compiled by CAB INTERNATIONAL. It covers the significant research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, human health and nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources. Over three million records have been added to the database since its computerization in 1973. These records are made available through a wide range of products and services both printed and electronic
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
Full text database in the areas of nursing and allied health journals. Contains approximately 770 journals from the CINAHL index with coverage back to 1937.
Embase Classic + Embase (Ovid)
- This link opens in a new window
Embase Classic 1947-1973.
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center (USDE)
Open database of education research. Access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature indexed from 1966 to the present
FSTA® -the food science resource (Web of Science)
- This link opens in a new window
Pure and applied research in food science, food technology, and food-related nutrition.

(1969-present)

Health Indicators tabulates key health and administrative data at both the federal and provincial levels.
Health Systems Evidence - "Evidence to support policymakers, stakeholders and researchers interested in how to strengthen or reform health systems or in how to get cost-effective programs, services and drugs to those who need them"; email registration required

HealthSTAR (Ovid)
- This link opens in a new window
Note: Starting in 2000, only journal articles have been added to HealthSTAR. For help searching the health services literature, see: 1) PubMed Health Services Research Queries and 2) US National Library of Medicine's Health Services Research and Public Health Information Programs

International Development Research Centre Digital Library - Well indexed collection of documents covering international development including health
Open Science Directory - Free searchable database of the growing collection of articles free in developing countries. This site is provided by EBSCO Information Services.

MEDLINE(R) (OVID) ALL, 1946-
- This link opens in a new window
PAIS Index
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly PAIS International. Global public policy and social issues
PEN : Practice-based Evidence in Nutrition
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed (McGill)
TOXLINE
- This link opens in a new window
This database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens and teratogens. Coverage: 1999 - current. Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub

UN Food and Agriculture Organization - Use search box (upper left) to find FAO publications

Environmental Science Index (was Water Resources Abstracts)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth A&I coverage from the environmental science literature and related disciplines. Abstracts and citations are drawn from thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade titles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other varied content types. Includes access to TOXLINE. Coverage: 1960 - current. - Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
World Bank eLibrary
- This link opens in a new window
The subscription to this resource has not been renewed.

Regional Datababases

Regional Databases

African Index Medicus (AIM) - Can also be searched through Africa-Wide Information on EBSCOhost (under Search Options, select Data Contributor: African Index Medicus)
African Journals Online (AJOL) - Can also be searched through Africa-Wide Information on EBSCOhost (under Search Options, select Data Contributor: African Journals Online). Regarding the importance of searching AJOL for Sub-Saharan African health sciences literature, see: Asubiaro TV. Sub-Saharan Africa's biomedical journal coverage in scholarly databases: a comparison of Web of Science, Scopus, EMBASE, MEDLINE, African Index Medicus, and African Journals Online. Journal of the Medical Library Association : JMLA. 2023;111(3):696-702.
Index Medicus for the Eastern Mediterranean Region (IMEMR) - Select IMEMR from drop-down; can also be searched through the World Health Organization Global Index Medicus
Index Medicus for South-East Asia (IMSEAR) - Can also be searched through the World Health Organization Global Index Medicus
LILACS (Latin American and Caribbean Index Medicus)

LIVIVO
German search portal for life sciences

PakMediNet - Pakistani based medical research
SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online)
Western Pacific Region Index Medicus (WPRIM) - Can also be searched through the World Health Organization Global Index Medicus
Global Index Medicus (World Health Organization) - Combined search for regional indexes (AIM, LILACS (AMRO/PAHO), IMEMR, IMSEAR, WPRIM), MEDLINE, WHOLIS (KMS), SciELO

Regional Databases - Multidisciplinary

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies - ABSEES (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Coverage for ABSEES ranges from 1989 to the present.
Africa-Wide Information (Ebsco)
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by NISC South Africa, this resource combines bibliographic databases from around the world to form a multidisciplinary aggregation of extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies. Contains 3.2 million citations and abstracts dating back to the 16th century.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database covering principally the areas of humanities and the social sciences on the East, Southeast, and South Asia. Abstracts published worldwide from 1971 to present.
HAPI online
- This link opens in a new window
Search the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) for journal article citations about Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US
Index Islamicus (Brill)
- This link opens in a new window
International classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world.

KCI-Korean Journal Database (Web of Science)
- This link opens in a new window

PRISMA Database with Hapi Index
- This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of many scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin.
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub

Librarians

Multidisciplinary team

April Colosimo, Science

Eamon Duffy, Government Information

Genevieve Gore, Health

Michael David Miller, Economics and International Development

Global Health

Core Databases

Additional Databases

Additional Databases

Regional Datababases

Regional Databases

Regional Databases - Multidisciplinary

Librarians

Multidisciplinary team

Need help? Ask us!