German Literature and Language

Sources for Background Information

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Core and Additional Databases

• Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft (BDSL), coverage 1985-to date with some earlier years.
  Use the printed volumes of Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft for earlier years (before 1985).
• Deutsche Literatur des 18. Jahrhunderts online. The approximately 2,700 works with almost 4,500 volumes reflect the broad spectrum of German literature from the early stages of the age of Enlightenment to the later part of the period.Help using the Database
• Germanistik Online Datenbank. Approximately 340,000 monographic studies, collected volumes and journals from the areas of literature, theatre studies, media studies, cultural history and linguistics are made accessible bibliographically. User Guide
• MLA International Bibliography Published by the Modern Language Association of America.
  Coverage 1926- Published by the Modern Language Association of America. coverage 1984- Very large, multi-subject periodical indexes. There is a lot of content dealing with German literature and culture in these databases and very many full-text files. Years of coverage vary greatly
• Humanities index  literary topics published 1962 - current
• Literature Criticism Online Full-text database of literary criticism all time periods.
• Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) - multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings
• German Literature Collections  brings together the complete portfolio of ProQuest German literature resources: Goethes Werke, Schillers Werke, Kafkas Werke, Brechts Werke, Die Deutsche Lyrik

     German Newspapers

• PressReader
• Factiva
• German Newspapers

Other Resources

Related Subject Guides

• Film Studies 
• MLA citation style guide