The McGill Student publications collection comprises a variety of publications from 1875 to 2001. The chief long-standing student newspaper at McGill, The McGill Daily, was founded in 1911.
There are some limitations associated with conducting archival research. McGill University Archives (MUA) staff can in many instances verify a student's attendance at McGill University, but cannot determine whether someone has graduated.
To adhere to Quebec privacy laws, the MUA cannot provide information on an individual until 30 years after their death. If the information is related to health, it can be provided only 100 years after death. If the date of death is unknown, information can be provided 100 years after the date of the record in question. For more information on privacy and access issues related to records, see La Commission d’accès à l’information se prononce sur les données généalogiques diffusées par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux (French only).
This page includes information and archival resources that will allow a researcher to conduct genealogical research on relatives or subjects who attended McGill University.
After using the following resources, if you still have questions contact the McGill University Archives reference desk with the following information:
University Archives staff will then search the student yearbook, scrapbooks, and other sources not accessible through the website.
Graduate Directories are available by appointment in the Rare Books and Archives reading room. These directories are not official records of the University but are published by the Graduates (Alumni) Society. An appointment is recommended, especially if you would like to meet with an archivist. The archivist can also let you know if there are any limitations or restrictions on access, as well as some other sources of information. To book an appointment, email the Rare Books Library. Learn more about the Rare Books reading room hours and policies here.
Although some Annuals are digitized, not all have been made available electronically. Convocation programmes can be referred to on site.
Digitized Convocation programmes and proceedings:
Videos of McGill Convocations are available beginning in 2009.
In October 2023, McGill librarians and staff gave a presentation for McGill Homecoming titled "Genealogy 201: Finding Information in McGill's Collections and in Indigenous Records." This presentation highlights resources available for the public as well as alumni on conducting genealogical research. Stream the event recording below, and access the handout from the event.
McGill Library Archival Collections Catalogue provides a single interface for searching the library's archival holdings. Where digital copies are available, they are accessible directly from the description. Includes holdings those from: Canadian Architecture Collection; McGill University Archives; Osler Library of the History of Medicine; Rare Books and Special Collections; Marvin Duchow Music Library.
McGill Libraries • Questions? Ask us!
Privacy notice