Guides: Genealogy: Genealogy & Local History Resources

Genealogy Resources

This page includes general genealogy resources that will be beneficial to those beginning genealogical research whether for personal or scholarly reasons. Resources are grouped into:

Recommended resources, the top 3 recommended resources for beginning genealogical research
Local (Montreal) resources, including local genealogy groups
National (Canadian) resources, including links to Library and Archives Canada
International (non-Canadian) resources, including groups, databases, and websites focused on national and ethnic groups that have settled in North America

Recommended Resources

Ancestry Library (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Includes census data, birth and death indexes, military service records, for North America and the United Kingdom. Accessible to McGill users only; VPN required for off-campus access.

Library and Archives Canada: Immigration Records
This page provides general instructions on using immigration records to do genealogical research and provides a list of places to look.
Heritage
The Héritage collection draws from the rich resources of archival microfilm held by Library and Archives Canada with over 41 million pages (over 900 collections) from some of Canada's most popular archival collections. The majority of the material in Héritage is handwritten.
Also available in French.

Local History & Genealogy (Montreal)

Quebec Genealogy Resources (LAC)
A list of resources from Library and Archives Canada for conducting genealogical research in Quebec. Includes descriptions of sources held at BAnQ (with links).
BAnQ généalogie
Information and services offered by the Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec (BAnQ) related to genealogy. Interface and most materials en français.
Montreal Municipal Directories (BAnQ)
This collection brings together municipal directories of Montreal and the surrounding region published between 1842 and 2010, mainly by publisher and printer John Lovell. These directories are extremely useful for anyone interested in genealogy, social history, building history or urban geography. They generally include an alphabetical list of residents, a list of residents by street name and address, a list of professionals and merchants, and a list of institutions.
Interface en français, directories in English.
Quebec Family History Society
Encourages and assists the study of genealogy in Quebec.
Jewish Genealogical Society of Montreal
Offers a getting started guide, free monthly workshops, and one-on-one help.
McGill Yearbooks (1898-2000)
Fully digitized Old McGill Yearbooks from 1898-2000; website offers the ability to search for a former student by name.
Genealogy Ensemble
A local (Montreal) group of amateur genealogists.
Le Fichier Origine
Le Fichier Origine est le répertoire des actes de l’état civil et des actes notariés trouvés dans le cadre du projet franco-québécois de recherche sur les origines familiales des émigrants français et étrangers établis au Québec des origines à 1865 (PROFEQ).
GenealogieQuebec
*Requires a paid subscription.
Genealogy Quebec is home to over 50 million historical and genealogical documents and images. These varied documents focus mainly on Quebec, but also on Acadia, New Brunswick, as well as parts of Ontario and the Northeastern United States.
Clergenealogy
Ce site permet aux chercheuses, aux chercheurs, aux généalogistes de retrouver des femmes et des hommes qui ont rejoint les ordres religieux et sont ainsi souvent disparus des radars généalogiques. L'objectif de ce site est non seulement de les répertorier, mais surtout de les rattacher à leurs parents afin d'aider celles et ceux qui désirent compléter des fiches familiales.
History of Montreal Bibliography (UQAM)
Extensive bibliography of resources on the history of Montreal, prepared by librarians at UQAM. Resources in French and English.
TIP: Use the filters at the lefthand side of the page to limit your results!

Montreal Gazette

The main English-language newspaper published in Montreal. Several access points are available:

Montreal Gazette (1785-2010)
Available to McGill users only.
The Gazette (1867-2010)
Available to McGill users only.
Montreal Gazette (1870s-2006)
Public access (via Google News).
Montreal Gazette (1985-Present)
Available to McGill users only.

Other Newspapers

La Presse
Montreal, QC. Digitized issues from BAnQ. Coverage 1884-2017 (click on 'calendar' icon to choose date).
Le Devoir
Daily independent newspaper from Montreal founded by Henri Bourassa. Digitized issues from BANQ. Coverage 1920-2020 (click on 'calendar' icon to choose date).
Revues et journaux québévois archivés (BAnQ)
BAnQ met à la disposition du public la quasi-totalité des revues et journaux publiés au Québec. Cette collection témoigne de la vie quotidienne, culturelle, politique, économique et scientifique.

Other Canadian news sources can be found on the Newspapers guide.

Newspapers
by Humanities and Social Sciences Library Last Updated Aug 21, 2024 15372 views this year

National

Newspapers
by Humanities and Social Sciences Library Last Updated Aug 21, 2024 15372 views this year

Sources for Genealogy Research by Province (LAC)
A list of sources for conducting genealogy research compiled by Library and Archives Canada for each province and territory.
1931 Canadian Census
Census returns are official records that count the country's population. The 1931 Canadian Census was released in June 2023.
Census Search
Search all of Canada's Census records (pre-Confederation to 1926) in one place.
WWII Service Files (LAC)
Search the service files for Canadian armed forces members who died in the Second World War (1939-1947).
British Columbia Regional Digitized History
Search BCRDH to access copies of regional historical resources including photographs, textual documents and publications from participating BC memory institutions. To learn more about how to search the website, go to "Toolkit" and then "Navigating and Searching in BCRDH".
Nova Scotia Archives: Genealogy
Search Nova Scotia vital statistics (birth, marriages, and deaths).
Ontario Genealogical Society
Organization with a focus on supporting genealogical research within Ontario.
Find a Grave: Canadian Cemeteries
Find A Grave is a free website that currently contains information for over 400,000 cemeteries in over 200 different countries, and has at least a partial listing of graves for over 250,000 of these cemeteries. This links to search for cemeteries in Canada.
Where to obtain vital records
Each province and territory has an office of vital records that manages birth, stillbirth, death and marriage documents. You will have to contact the specific province or territory in which you live or were born to obtain your records.

United States

FamilySearch
Run by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (LDS or Mormon Church). Most documents are made available through the use of un/underpaid and exploitative prison labour.
Freedmen's Bureau (Smithsonian)
The United States Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands, commonly known as the Freedmen's Bureau, was created by Congress in 1865 to assist in the political and social reconstruction of post-war Southern states and to help formerly enslaved African Americans transition from slavery to freedom and citizenship. In the process, the Bureau created millions of records that contain the names and information of hundreds of thousands of people across the United States including formerly enslaved African Americans, and those who were free before the Civil War, white southerners, northern educators, elected officials, and more.
Freedman's Bank Records (FamilySearch)
Name index and images of registers for 67,000 formerly enslaved people who opened accounts in the Freedman's Savings and Trust Company. This is one of the best ways to trace formerly enslaved Americans before the 1870 census.
From FamilySearch. Note that these records were made available through the use of volunteer prison labour.
U.S. Military Personnel Records
Records are held from the Revolutionary War to the present in Washington D.C. (National Archives) and in St. Louis, Missouri (National Military Personnel Records Center).
Civil War Soldier and Sailors Database
The CWSS database is a comprehensive research tool for searching the records of the soldiers and sailors that fought in the U.S. Civil War.
Federal Depository Library: Genealogy Resources
Links a variety of government resources related to genealogy together in one place. Includes information on Military and Ethnic Group research, finding aids, and archive locations.
Where to write for vital records
Listing of addresses, procedures and costs involved in requesting vital records (marriage, birth, death, or divorce) from state and territory agencies.

International

GENUKI
Vrtual reference library of genealogical information of particular relevance to the UK and Ireland.
JewishGen
A website for Jewish and Eastern European genealogy. Some features require a login.
Caribbean Genealogy Library
Focuses primarily on the history of the Danish West Indies/US Virgin Islands, the Caribbean Genealogy Library offers digitized collections of passport, marriage, tax, and citizenship documents.
Caribbean GenWeb Project
On-line data repository for queries, family histories, and source records as well as a resource center to identify other on-line databases and resources to assist researchers in conducting genealogical research on the Caribbean region.
AfriGeneas
Site devoted to African American genealogy.
BlackPast
BlackPast is an online reference centre that makes available a wealth of materials on African American and global African history in one central location on the Internet. This link goes directly to the Genealogy resources page.

Interviewing Family Members

Oral History Questions
The information on this PDF page can be used to structure a family oral history interview and contains examples of specific questions.
Interview Questions and Prompts for Family History Interviews
The best tactic for oral history interviews is to ask open-ended questions (rather than ones with yes or no answers), and to focus on people's memories and experiences. Use these questions as a springboard for planning your interview.
Creating Oral Histories (FamilySearch)
Tips from FamilySearch for conducting Family History Interviews.