Chemical Engineering

Most databases will have the option to create an account on their platform so that you can save your searches and set up automatic alerts. Take a look through their help files to find out how you can best take advantage of their different features.

Physical sciences and engineering databases

• Compendex: Engineering literature (uses the Engineering Index Thesaurus)
• SciFinder: Chemical Abstracts plus substance and reaction information
  • SciFinder registration information
  • Training from CAS
  • Search tips for SciFinder (PDF)
  • Get ChemDraw (ChemOffice) from PerkinElmer
    • Search SciFinder from within ChemDraw (PDF)
    • Export structures to open in ChemDraw (video)
• Inspec: Covers physics, electronics, computer science, electrical, control, production and mechanical engineering (uses the Inspec Thesaurus to index records)
• engrXiv: Open e-print server for engineering (includes non-peer reviewed preprints)
• bioRxiv: Open e-print server for biology

Other subject-specific databases

• PubMed: Biomedical literature (includes MEDLINE)
  • Find controlled vocabulary terms in the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) database
• Embase: Biomedical literature (includes MEDLINE)
  • Embase has its own thesaurus called Emtree
• Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
• Business Source Complete (includes engineering trade journals and market reports)
• ABI/INFORM (includes trade journals, market and industry reports)

Multidisciplinary citation indexes

• Web of Science: Selectively indexes journals based on impact.
• Scopus: Larger than Web of Science (less selective).
• Google Scholar: Scholarly version of Google (the least selective of the databases with citations coming from alternative sources, such as presentation slides).
  • Get the most out of Google Scholar (PDF)
  • Add McGill Library links in Google Scholar
• Semantic Scholar: AI-powered research tool.

Databases A-Z

There are hundreds of databases available through McGill Library. Check out the Databases A-Z list by alphabet or by subject.