Chemical Engineering

Citation management software

• EndNote - Build your personal database of references, organize them into groups, find and attach the full text of papers, and insert bibliographic citations in your papers in your chosen style.
  • Guide to using EndNote
  • EndNote Essentials workshops are offered throughout the year.
  • EndNote Web - Sync between the software and online version of EndNote. Create an account from a computer on the McGill network.
• Zotero - McGill Library provides support for this online citation tool.
  • Zotero workshops are offered throughout the year.
  • Watch a Zotero video tutorial.

Citing in LaTeX

• Overleaf - Online LaTeX tool with templates.
• JabRef - Open source bibliography reference manager. The native file format used by JabRef is BibTeX, the standard LaTeX bibliography format.
  • Guide to using JabRef
• LaTeX Wikibooks is a great resource for bibliography management (and all things LaTeX)

Writing

• Look for writing tips and guides from publishers where you are thinking of submitting (ex: Wiley, IOP, AIP)
• IEEE Author Center (includes video tutorials on writing for publication)
• Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) - Writing in Engineering
• ACS Reviewer Lab: Free peer review training course for scientific researchers from the American Chemical Society
• Routes of Writing - The Routes of Writing project gives insight into the writing practices of McGill academics. 
• Courses and workshops for graduate students and postdocs at McGill Graphos
• Harvard Guided to Using Sources