Islamic studies: gender & women's studies

Missionary Studies including records of female missionaries and women's missionary organizations.

Although not necessarily focused on gender and women studies, the databases below will include documents relating to women.

Confidential Print: Middle East covers the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha, the Middle East Conference of 1921, the Mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia and the Suez Crisis, the partition of Palestine, post-Suez Western foreign policy and the Arab-Israeli conflict.

Interrogating Colonial Documents and Narratives includes tools (books and videos) introducing key approaches and methodologies of working with colonial documents.

Gale Primary Sources includes a number collections, among which Archives Unbound:

• Aden: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1880-1906
• Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963: Records of the U.S. State Department Central Classified Files
• Afghanistan in 1919: The Third Anglo-Afghan War
• British Campaign in Mesopotamia, 1914-1918
• British Mandate in Palestine, Arab-Jewish Relations, and the U.S. Consulate at Jerusalem, 1920-1944
• Democracy in Turkey, 1950-1959: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files
• Egypt: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1853-1962
• Evangelism and the Syria-Lebanon Mission: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1869-1910
• Evangelism in Iran: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1847-1911
• French Mandate in The Lebanon, Christian-Muslim Relations, and the U.S. Consulate at Beirut, 1919-1935
• Iran (Persia): Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1883-1959
• Iraq: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1888-1944
• King and the People in Morocco, 1950-1959: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Morocco
• Lebanon, Palestine, Syria, Trans-Jordan: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1836-1944
• Libya: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1796-1885
• Middle East Series Online 1: Arab-Israeli Relations 1917-1970
• Middle East Series Online 2: Iraq 1914-1974
• Morocco: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1797-1929
• Palestine and Israel: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1959
• Persian Gulf States and Yemen, 1950-1959
• Records of the Persian Gulf War
• Saudi Arabia: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1930-1959
• Turkey: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1802-1949
• U.S. Middle East Peace Policy and America's Role in the Middle East Peace Process, 1989-1993
• U.S. Operations Mission to Saudi Arabia, 1950-1955: Correspondence and Subject Files of the Office of the Director

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.

Al-Manhal eLibrary gives access to over 100,000 full-text searchable publications (books, peer-reviewed journals, strategic studies, academic dissertations and educational videos) from the Arab world’s leading publishers on a wide-variety of topics in the humanities and social sciences.

JSTOR offers a subject searchable index of journals on-line. Retrieves full-text back files of scholarly journals, some of which date back to the 1800's. Does not include articles more recent than five years ago.

ProQuest Research Library is a multidisciplinary database covering disciplines within the humanities and social sciences.

Web of Science includes scholarly articles for medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology as well as citation indexes.

A selected list of databases pertinent to Islamic and Middle East studies is available here, and a complete list of databases accessible to McGill affiliated researchers is available here.