Guides: Aboriginal Law: Archives, bibliographies & other resources

Archives, bibliographies & other resources

Aboriginal Heritage Aboriginal documentary heritage found in the holdings of Library and Archives Canada
Bibliography of Native North Americans Indexes works published from the 16th century to the present concerning native North American topics and issues.
Droit autochtone (dossier spécial, CAIJ) Research guide for indigenous law, curated by the CAIJ. Regularly updated.
Federal and Provincial Collections of Minutes of Decision, Correspondance and Sketches Materials produced by the Joint Indian Reserve Commission (1876 to 1878) and the Indian Reserve Commission (1878 to 1910).
Indigenous Law Portal. The Law Library of Congress collection contains a variety of Indigenous legal materials from the United States and jurisdictions from around the world, including historical constitutions and charters.
Indigenous Rights and Governance in Canada, Australia, and New Zealand (Oxford Bibliographies)
Library and Archives Canada. Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples (RCAP) Searchable database of select RCAP records. The database contains transcripts of more than 175 days of hearings; nearly 200 research reports; more than 100 submissions from tribal councils, organizations and interest groups, as well as RCAP publications and the final report."
National Archives. American Indians and Alaska Natives Information relating to American Indians from as early as 1774 through the mid-1990s.
National Indian Law Library. A US law library devoted to federal Indian and tribal law.
Our Legacy Material relating to First Nations, Metis, and Inuit peoples, found in Saskatchewan cultural and heritage collections.
Rooted. A Publication on Indigenous Law. An online magazine, that explores Indigenous law through a novel blend of scholarly texts, art, and poetry produced by the Faculty of Law’s Indigenous Law Association / Association du Droit Autochtone (ILADA).
Select and Annotated Bibliography regarding Bill C-31, Indian registration and band membership Prepared by the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development Canada, annotated bibliography of monographs, journal articles, conference proceedings, etc. focusing on Aboriginal women.