Skip to Main Content

Aboriginal Law

Databases and websites relevant for the research in Aboriginal law.

Databases

  • Aboriginal and Treaty Rights Information System (ATRIS). Information system intended to map out the location of Aboriginal communities and display information pertaining to their potential or established Aboriginal or treaty rights
  • HeinOnline's aboriginal resources database An expansive archive of treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and jurisprudence.
  • Anthropology Plus The index offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
  • Heritage Canadiana Online Search the aboriginal history section that documents the government management of aboriginal affairs from the late 1700s to the mid 1900s, exploring issues of land ownership, education, law, finances, health, and community development.
  • Early Encounters in North America: peoples, cultures and the environment Online database that contains over 1,480 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters between peoples, cultures and the environment in North America.
  • First Nations Digital Document Source A collection of electronic documents used primarily for research in land claims and First Nations issues.
  • Indigenous Peoples' Center for Documentation, Research and Information Includes online documentation, periodicals database, and Indigenous thesaurus of Human Rights terms, a monographic collection.
  • National Aboriginal Document Database. Comprehensive collection of primary sources available in HTML and PDF (not image-based) deposited in the Library and Archives Canada Electronic Collection; documents are not arranged in any particular order; some documents not linked; no longer being updated (since 2005).
  • Social Science Research Network (SSRN) Repository of academic papers, working papers and draft papers in the social sciences contains many recent unpublished papers related to Aboriginal law

Librarian

Profile Photo
Sonia Smith
Contact:
McGill University
Nahum Gelber Law Library
3660 Peel
Montreal, QC H3A 1W9
Canada
514-398-4715 ext. 09177
Subjects: Jewish studies, Law

Librarian

Profile Photo
Ana Rogers
Contact:
McGill University Library
Nahum Gelber Law Library
3660 Peel Street
Montréal Québec H3A 1W9
514-398-4715 ext. #09013
Subjects: Law

Librarians

Katarina Daniels
Email
514-398-4715 x00168

Sonia Smith
Email
514-398-4715 x09177

     

Resource key

  • McGill users only
  • Open access resource
  • Free resource
  • In-library-use only
  • Catalogue record

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice