Background questions are considerably broader and when answered, provide general knowledge. For example, a background question such as, "What therapies reduce postoperative pain?" can generally be answered by looking in a textbook.
Stillwell, S. B., Fineout-Overholt, E., Melnyk, B. M., & Williamson, K. M. (2010). Evidence-Based Practice, Step by Step: Asking the Clinical Question: A Key Step in Evidence-Based Practice. AJN, American Journal of Nursing, 110(3), 58-61.
*** Depending on your question, you may also answer background questions using narrative reviews, statistics, or government resources. ***
The best place to start is your course books. See below for additional reference books that you may wish to consult:
Avery's Neonatology by
The practice of neonatology requires a careful balance between modern technology and the prevention of unintended damage to a newborn. Early therapeutics were based on adult medicine, with often catastrophic results to the baby. As research and understanding of physiology and therapeutics have expanded, care of the preterm and sick infant has improved drastically. Avery s Neonatology is a practical guide to understanding the pathophysiology of the newborn so that appropriate treatment decisions can be made."
Fanaroff and Martin's Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine, 2-Volume Set by
Tackle your toughest challenges and improve the quality of life and long-term outcomes of your patients with authoritative guidance from Fanaroff and Martin's Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine. Drs. Richard J. Martin, Avroy A. Fanaroff, and Michele C. Walsh and a contributing team of leading experts in the field deliver a multi-disciplinary approach to the management and evidence-based treatment of problems in the mother, fetus and neonate. New chapters, expanded and updated coverage, increased worldwide perspectives, and many new contributors keep you current on the late preterm infant, the fetal origins of adult disease, neonatal anemia, genetic disorders, and more. "From neonatology point of view this book holds the position not only of procedural handbook but time-tested evidence based reference for the management of neonatal and perinatal problems. The publishers have done a great service by making the book accessible through web-based Student Consult and Expert Consult and to Inkling.com." Reviewed by: BACCH Newsletter Date: March 2015 "This is a fantastic book. It is a 'tour de force' exploration of fetal, perinatal and neonatal care, with a long list of contributors at the cutting edge of neonatology from across the USA and around the world". Reviewed by: Dr Lawrence Miall, Consultant in Neonatal Medicine, Leeds Centre for Newborn Care, Leeds Children's Hospital Date: July 2015 Be certain with expert, dependable, accurate answers for every stage of your career from the most comprehensive, multi-disciplinary text in the field! See nuance and detail in full-color illustrations that depict disorders in the clinical setting and explain complex information. Obtain more global perspectives and best practices with contributions from international leaders in the field of neonatal-perinatal medicine. Get comprehensive guidance on treating patients through a dual focus on neonatology and perinatology. Spot genetic problems early and advise parents of concerns, with a completely new section on this topic. Make informed clinical choices for each patient, from diagnosis and treatment selection through post-treatment strategies and management of complications, with new evidence-based criteria throughout. Stay at the forefront of your field thanks to new and completely revised chapters covering topics such as: Principles and Practice l Immune and Non-immune Hydrops Fetalis l Amniotic Fluid Volume l Enhancing Safe Prescribing in the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit l Role of Imaging in Neurodevelopmental Outcomes of High-Risk Neonates l Patent Ductus Arteriosus l Gastroesophageal Reflux and Gastroesophageal Reflux Diseases in the Neonate. Find and grasp the information you need easily and rapidly with indexing in both volumes that provides quick access to specific guidance. Advance clinically with advice based on the best-available evidence covering the wide spectrum of both perinatology and neonatology
Fetal and Neonatal Physiology, 2-Volume Set by
Fetal & Neonatal Physiology provides neonatologist fellows and physicians with the essential information they need to effectively diagnose, treat, and manage sick and premature infants. Fully comprehensive, this 2-volume resource continues to serve as an excellent reference tool, focusing on the basic science needed for exam preparation and the key information required for full-time practice. The 5th edition is the most substantially updated and revised edition ever. In the 5 years since the last edition published, there have been thousands of publications on various aspects of development of health and disease; Fetal and Neonatal Physiology synthesizes this knowledge into definitive guidance for today's busy practitioner. Offers definitive guidance on how to effectively manage the many health problems seen in newborn and premature infants. Chapters devoted to clinical correlation help explain the implications of fetal and neonatal physiology. Allows you to apply the latest insights on genetic therapy, intrauterine infections, brain protection and neuroimaging, and much more. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Features a fantastic new 4-color design with 1,000 illustrations, 170+ chapters, and over 350 contributors. 16 new chapters cover such hot topics as Epigenetics; Placental Function in Intrauterine Growth Restriction; Regulation of Pulmonary Circulation; The Developing Microbiome of the Fetus and Newborn; Hereditary Contribution to Neonatal Hyperbilirubinemia; Mechanistic Aspects of Phototherapy for Neonatal Hyperbilirubinemia; Cerebellar Development; Pathophysiology of Neonatal Sepsis; Pathophysiology of Persistent Pulmonary Hypertension of the Newborn; Pathophysiology of Meconium Aspiration Syndrome; Pathophysiology of Ventilator Dependent Infants; Pathophysiology of Hypoxic-Ischemic Brain Injury; Pathophysiology of Neonatal White Matter Injury; Pathophysiology of Meningitis; Pathophysiology of Preeclampsia; and Pathophysiology of Chorioamnionitis. New Pathophysiology of Neonatal Diseases section highlights every process associated with a disease or injury, all in one place. In-depth information, combined with end-of-chapter summaries, enables deep or quick use of the text.
Fetal and Neonatal Secrets by
Fetal and Neonatal Secrets by Drs. Richard Polin and Alan Spitzer, uses the success formula of the highly popular Secrets Series to offer fast answers to the most essential clinical questions in fetal and neonatal medicine. With its user-friendly Q&A format, practical tips from neonatologists and fetal medicine experts, and "Key Points" boxes, this portable and easy-to-read medical reference book provides rapid access to the practical knowledge you need to succeed both in practice and on board and recertification exams. "Fetal and Neonatal Secrets is a book with an alternative setup that offers answers to a wide spectrum of clinical questions in the field of fetal and neonatal medicine. The book covers both fetal and neonatal medicine, and could be relevant for junior doctors aiming to become obstetricians or pediatricians." Reviewed by: Acta Obstetricia et Gynecologica Scandinavica, January 2015 Get the evidence-based guidance you need to provide optimal care for your fetal and neonatal patients. Zero in on key fetal and neonatal information with a question and answer format, bulleted lists, mnemonics, and practical tips from the authors. Enhance your reference power with a two-color page layout, "Key Points" boxes, and lists of useful websites. Review essential material efficiently with the "Top 100 Secrets in Fetal and Neonatal Medicine" - perfect for last-minute study or self-assessment. Apply all the latest pediatric advances in clinical fetal neonatology techniques, technology, and pharmacology
See Nursing Subject Guide for more nursing books.
This link opens in a new window
The best place to start is your course books. See below for additional reference books that you may wish to consult:
Atlas of Procedures in Neonatology by
Atlas of Procedures in Neonatology, Fifth Edition Neonatal intensive care demands sound decision-making and rapid responses. By blending the illustrative power of an atlas with detailed, stepwise procedural descriptions, this practical resource covers a range of technique-specific interventions and prepares you for the challenges of the neonatal intensive care nursery. Speed response time, prevent errors, and improve outcomes for your youngest patients! * Expert guidance from noted experts highlights each step of each procedure, helping to minimize errors and promote safe practice standards.* Three animations offer stepwise visual guidance on exchange transfusion, emergency evacuation of air leaks, and endotracheal intubation.* Over 150 color photographs clarify important principles, problems, and complications.* Video clips address both common neonatal care procedures, such as umbilical line placement, PICC placement, and endotracheal intubation, and vital emergency procedures such as exchange transfusion and cardiac paracentesis infrequently performed. NEW to the Fifth Edition... * New chapters keep you current with the latest developments in Brain and Whole Body Cooling, Bubble CPAP, and Educational Principles of Simulation Based Procedure Training.* Expanded video collection includes lumbar puncture, radial artery puncture, intraosseous infusion, bubble CPAP, and pericardiocentesis.* Online companion website lets you access fully searchable text, image bank, and videos anytime, anywhere.
See Nursing Subject Guide for more nursing books.
This link opens in a new windowThe best place to start is your course books. See below for additional reference books that you may wish to consult:
Neurology of the Newborn by
The 5th edition of this indispensable resource captures the latest insights in neonatal neurology in a totally engaging, readable manner. World authority Dr. Joseph Volpe has completely revised his masterwork from cover to cover, describing everything from the most up-to-the-minute discoveries in genetics through the latest advances in the diagnosis and management of neurologic disorders. He delivers all the clinical guidance you need to provide today's most effective care for neonates with neurological conditions.Provides comprehensive coverage of neonatal neurology, solely written by the field s founding expert, Dr. Joseph Volpe - for a masterful, cohesive source of answers to any question that arises in your practice. Focuses on clinical evaluation and management, while also examining the many scientific and technological advances that are revolutionizing neonatal neurology. Organizes disease-focused chapters by affected body region for ease of reference.Offers comprehensive updates from cover to cover to reflect all of the latest scientific and clinical knowledge, from our most current understanding of the genetic underpinnings of neurologic disease, through the most recent neuroimaging advances . . . state-of-the-art guidelines for evaluation, diagnosis, and prognosis . . . and the newest management approaches for every type of neonatal neuropathology. Features a wealth of new, high-quality images that capture the many advances in neonatal neuroimaging, including numerous MR images."
Neonatal and Infant Dermatology by
Neonatal and Infant Dermatology is a unique comprehensive and heavily illustrated reference on the dermatologic diseases of newborns and infants. It includes discussions of common and uncommon conditions seen in infants at birth and in the first few months of life. With over 600 superb photographs of normal and abnormal skin conditions including images of rare conditions, this easily accessible resource is essential for pediatricians, neonatologists, and dermatologists as well as other healthcare professionals involved in the diagnosis and treatment of dermatologic diseases in infants and newborns.Consult this title on your favorite e-reader, conduct rapid searches, and adjust font sizes for optimal readability. Get the depth of coverage you need to effectively diagnose skin conditions in neonates and infants. Expedite effective differential diagnoses with guidance from algorithms, lists, text, boxes and supporting images. Benefit from the experience of over 60 contributors from around the world lead by Drs. Lawrence F. Eichenfield and Ilona J. Frieden, two of the most important names in the fields of dermatology and pediatrics.Glean all essential, up-to-date, need-to-know information with new chapters on Papulosquamous and Lichenoid Disorders, Acneiform and Sweat-gland disorders and two individual chapters on Vascular Malformations and Vascular Tumors. See what to expect and how to proceed with new, high-quality illustrations and photos that provide even more visual examples of abnormal and normal conditions.
Gastroenterology and Nutrition by
Gastroenterology and Nutrition, a volume in Dr. Polin's Neonatology: Questions and Controversies Series, offers expert authority on the toughest neonatal gastroenterologic and nutritional challenges you face in your practice. This medical reference book will help you provide better evidence-based care and improve patient outcomes with research on the latest advances. Reconsider how you handle difficult practice issues with coverage that addresses these topics head on and offers opinions from the leading experts in the field, supported by evidence whenever possible. Find information quickly and easily with a consistent chapter organization. Get the most authoritative advice available from world-class neonatologists who have the inside track on new trends and developments in neonatal care. Purchase each volume individually, or get the entire 6-volume set, which includes online access that allows you to search across all titles! Stay current in practice with coverage on what the controversies are and where the field is moving in terms of basic intestinal development and nutritional requirements for the neonate. Access the fully searchable text online at www.expertconsult.com.
The Newborn Lung: Neonatology Questions and Controversies by
The Newborn Lung, a volume in Dr. Polin's Neonatology: Questions and Controversies Series, offers expert authority on the toughest challenges in neonatal pulmonology and respiratory care. This medical reference book will help you provide better evidence-based care and improve patient outcomes with research on the latest advances. Reconsider how you handle difficult practice issues with coverage that address these topics head on, offering opinions from the leading experts in the field, supported by the best available evidence. Find information quickly and easily with a consistent chapter organization. Get the most authoritative advice available from world-class neonatologists who have the inside track on new trends and developments in neonatal care. Purchase each volume individually, or get the entire 6-volume set, which includes online access that allows you to search across all titles! Stay current in practice with in-depth coverage of presentation, pathogenesis, epidemiology, and prevention of bronchopulmonary dysplasia; short and long-term outcomes of oxygenation strategies in preterm infants; and many other hot topics in neonatal respiratory care. Access the fully searchable text online at www.expertconsult.com.
See Nursing Subject Guide for more nursing books.
This link opens in a new windowThe best place to start is your course books. See below for additional reference books that you may wish to consult:
Examination of the Newborn by
Examination of the Newborn: An Evidence Based Guide is a practical and comprehensive guide for practitioners to enable them to undertake physical examination of neonates safely and competently. Incorporating the current UK Screening Committee NIPE Standards and Competencies, this book brings into focus what 'good practice' should look like against current national standards. Avaluable resource for midwives, advanced neonatal nurse practitioners, and health visitors, as well as all other health professionals involved in the examination of the newborn, this text covers: Neonatal examination and history taking Development of the heart and lungs and transition to extrauterine life. Cardiovascular and respiratory assessment of the baby Assessment of the neonatal skin and jaundice Examination of the eyes head and neck Examination of the abdomen and genitalia Abnormalities of the lower extremities including developmental dysplasia of the hip The dysmorphic infant and common congenital abnormalities Behavioural issues Professional issues in practice Safeguarding Children Examination of the Newborn provides essential reading for all health care professionals who are continually striving to update their knowledge and contribute to the standardisation of care on a national scale.
See Nursing Subject Guide for more nursing books.
This link opens in a new window
McGill Library • Questions? Ask us!
Privacy notice
