Guides: EDKP 204 Health Education: Team Video Presentation

Webinars and learning modules

Health Disparities and COVID-19 Webinar Series
A collection of webinars on how racial and income inequality intersects with the COVID-19 Pandemic
Navigating the COVID-19 Evidence Landscape
This learning module focuses on understanding the unique special considerations to be aware of when searching for and using evidence for COVID-19.

Useful websites

COVID19MisInfo.org
The COVID19MisInfo.org Portal is a rapid response project of the Ryerson Social Media Lab. The aim of this project is two-fold: (1) put a spotlight on COVID-19 related misinformation and (2) to provide Canadians with timely and actionable information that we all can use to protect ourselves, our communities and to #flattenthecurve.
JBI COVID-19 Evidence Summaries
Summaries of the best available evidence related to a clinical topic including best practice recommendations to help clinicians mobilise evidence into practice.
Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) pandemic - WHO
World Health Organization's COVID-19 page.
Campbell Collaboration COVID-19 Blog Posts
Blog posts profiling Campbell reviews that are relevant to COVID-19. Can be a good place to get topic ideas.

WorldCat Discovery MCGILL LIBRARY (journal articles excluded)

Articles

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others.
Scopus (Elsevier)
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database with strong medicine and education content.
MEDLINE (OVID) ALL, 1946-
- This link opens in a new window
Database containing medical articles published around the world.
SPORTdiscus (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Contains articles on issues regarding sports, sports medicine, leisure, and recreation.
AgeInfo - Resources for Gerontologists
- This link opens in a new window
Information resource about old age and ageing provided by the Library and Information Service of the Centre for Policy on Ageing.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Full text database in the areas of nursing and allied health journals. Contains approximately 770 journals from the CINAHL index with coverage back to 1937.
Nursing & Allied Health Database Premium (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
PsycINFO 1987-present (Ovid)
- This link opens in a new window
Database containing articles on the field of Psychology.
ERIC (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Coverage: 1966 - current.
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub

Searching OVID Databases

This video teaches us how to search Medline, PsycInfo, and Social Work Abstracts.

Software to create videos

Prezi
Online interactive and dynamic presentations.
SnagIt
Screen recording software. Allows for voice over and camera video recording.
iMovie
Available for Macs, iPhones and iPad. Inexpensive app to edit video.
Microsoft Photo App
Comes with most PCs. Easy to use. Great with for photo-montages.

Topic ideas

Mental health
Loneliness
Racial equity
Income inequality
Disability
Food insecurity
Child poverty
Education
Domestic violence
Gender inequality
Gender/racial bias in healthcare
Migration/Immigration
Postural issues from working from home
Delays is preventative health care (e.g. childhood vaccines)

Search Tips

The Basic Search is the default search for the Sofia Discovery tool homepage.

To retrieve search results for a word with multiple endings, use the root with an asterix; for example, vote* will retrieve results related to vote, votes, and voting.
To search an exact phrase, use quotation marks; for example, "Liberal party of Canada".
To narrow a broad topic, use AND between keywords; for example, elections AND Canada.
To broaden a research topic, use OR to search for terms that denote similar concepts; for example, (voting OR elections) AND Canada.

For more help searching Sofia, consult the Sofia LibGuide.