Skip to Main Content

Nursing: Evidence-Informed Practice Search Module- Intermediate

About Ovid Medline

Medline is the largest biomedical database essential for health care research and clinical practice; it can be searched on the Ovid platform or via PubMed, the public platform. In this module we will use only the Ovid interface.

  In it you will find:

  From:

  Search using:
  • articles (academic and trade)
  • books
  • abstracts
  • conference proceedings
  • editorials, and more
  • academic & trade publishers
  • dating 1946- present
  • subject headings & keywords
  • wildcards & adjacency
  • Boolean operators
  • Apply limits
    such as publication year etc.

Search Module- Intermediate Video 3: Searching Ovid Medline using subject headings

APA citation: Health Sciences Library, McMaster University. (2014, October 16). OVID Medline - Part 1 - Starting Your Search [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qm2tuuxqftg#action=share

Skip ahead to the 1:15 mark to begin:

IMPORTANT NOTE: To access Ovid Medline at McGill use the quick links box to the left of this page, from any of the nursing subject or course guides, or search for it in the Database A-Z list on the main library web page. When you are off campus you will be prompted to log in using your McGill username and password. See the box on the right of this page for more info on how access McGill's databases and articles.

Search Module- Intermediate Video 4: Searching Ovid Medline using subject headings

APA citation: Health Sciences Library, McMaster University. (2014, October 16). OVID Medline - Part 2 - Refining Your Search [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wtO-KdQRtUg&feature=youtu.be

Skip ahead to the 1:15 mark to begin:

IMPORTANT NOTE: To access Medline at McGill use the quick links box to the left of this page, from any of the nursing subject or course guides, or search for it in the Database A-Z list on the main library web page. When you are off campus you will be prompted to log in using your McGill username and password. See the box on the right of this page for more info on how access McGill's databases and articles.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Francesca Frati
her/they/elle
Contact:
Schulich Library of Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, and Engineering (Relocated to the McLennan-Redpath Library Complex during the Schulich closure)
(514) 398 1277
Social: Twitter Page
Subjects: Nursing

Accessing Full Text

Most of the Library's licensed electronic resources, such as databases, full-text online journals and eBooks, are restricted to McGill students and staff. Find out about accessing the Library's online resources from on and off campus.

Obtaining materials that are not available at McGill

McGill students and staff may order articles and books that are not available at McGill using COLOMBO, the library's interlibrary loan service.

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice