Skip to Main Content

Macdonald Campus Seed Library

Soil Building

Books

Easy Compost: Composting is green gardening at its best: it helps protect plants from diseases and pests, creates especially rich soil, and releases its nutrients slowly as plants need them. This essential guide contains the latest information on modern composting techniques, from what to put in the pile to how best to use your compost in the garden. An expanded resource section features special advice for urban gardeners. Available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library (call number S661 E27 2013).


Easy Compost: The Secret to Great Soil and Spectacular Plants: Includes information on composting's history; tips on equipment; tips for difficult climes; composting indoors; making humus in small spaces; and using compost in the garden. Available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library (call number S661 E27 1997).


The Rodale Book of Composting: Explains what composting is and how it works, provides instructions for making and using compost, and offers ecologically sound solutions to waste disposal problems. Available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library (call number S661 R62 1992).


Teaming with Microbes: The Organic Gardener's Guide to the Soil Food Web: This book provides information on ways to strengthen and cultivate the soil food web to grow healthy plants without the use of chemicals. It explains the activities and organisms that make up the web, and how gardeners can cultivate the life of the soil through the use of compost, mulches, and compost tea. Available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library (call number S591 L59 2010).


Online Resources

A Budget-Friendly Guide to Organic Fertilizer and Soil Amendments

Choosing a Fertilizer for Your Vegetable Garden

Four Easy Do-It-Yourself Soil Tests

A Guide to Backyard Composting

How to Test Your Soil at Home Using a Soil Test Kit

Soil Management in Home Gardens and Landscapes

Managing Plant Diseases

Books

Natural Disease Control: Basic guide to preventing, diagnosing, and treating common plant diseases. Available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library (call number SB731 N285 2000).


The Organic Gardener's Handbook of Natural Pest and Disease Control: A Complete Guide to Maintaining a Healthy Garden and Yard the Earth-Friendly Way: This handbook is an illustrated plant encyclopedia that lists the symptoms and solutions for major problems of over two hundred popular plants; features identification guides to insects and diseases that plague plants; and lists acceptable organic control techniques and products. Available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library (call number SB453.5 O675 2009).


Westcott's Plant Disease Handbook: Suitable for both the gardener but with an academic bent, this book uses dictionary-style entries to permit easy access to essential information, and numerous illustrations help identify important diseases. Available as an ebook and in print at the Macdonald Campus Library (call number SB731 W47 2001).


Online Resources

Disease Management in the Home Vegetable Garden

Garden Disease Prevention Basics

Home Vegetable Garden Disease Control

Plant Diseases

Pest Control

Books

The Organic Gardener's Handbook of Natural Pest and Disease Control: A Complete Guide to Maintaining a Healthy Garden and Yard the Earth-Friendly Way: This handbook is an illustrated plant encyclopedia that lists the symptoms and solutions for major problems of over two hundred popular plants; features identification guides to insects and diseases that plague plants; and lists acceptable organic control techniques and products. Available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library (call number SB453.5 O675 2009).


Pests of the Garden and Small Farm: A Grower's Guide to Using Less Pesticide: Featuring more than 250 color photographs of pests and more than 100 black and white drawings and photographs, this book enables you to identify pests quickly - and to prevent, correct, or live with most common pest problems. Crop tables at the back describe major pests on 30 vegetable and fruit tree crops and refer you to specific pages for more detail. Available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library (call number SB950 F57 1998).


Online Resources

14 Beneficial Insects for Natural Garden Pest Control

Garden Pests and Disease Directory

Organic Pest Control: What Works, What Doesn't

Scat! How to Keep Animals Out of Your Flower and Vegetable Gardens/Éloigner les mammifères du potager et du jardin

Librarian

Profile Photo
Dana Ingalls
Contact:
Macdonald Campus Library
Barton Building
21111 Lakeshore Rd.
Ste-Anne-de-Bellevue, QC
H9X 3V9
(514) 398-7576

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice