Skip to Main Content

Macdonald Campus Seed Library

General Guides

Books

Great Garden Companions: A Compantion-Planting System for a Beautiful, Chemical-Free Vegetable Garden

Designed to help readers make organic gardening easy and productive by using plants themselves instead of chemical care, a gardener offers a system that encourages pest-free growth. Available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library (call number SB321 C9 1998).
Providing helpful hints and a wise gardening philosophy for a productive food garden, this book begins at ground level with instruction on how to use compost and manure to create fertile soil that will lend its life to plants. A variety of seed options and planting methods are presented -- including start times and placement -- taking into account microclimates that occur in each garden as well as the benefits of companion planting. Provides full chapters on garden maintenance and harvesting, as well as tips on cooking and preserving the bounty with great recipes that focus on eating seasonally. Available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library (call number SB453.5 W38 2014).
Includes how-to and when to information for successful vegetable gardening thoughout the gardening regions in Canada. Filled with the need to know information on planting, growing and harvesting more than 50 vegetables and herbs. Includes full-color images and helpful maps and charts. Available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library (call number SB453.3 C2 G74 2009).
Everyone is growing their own food, whether to save money or to enjoy the taste and nutrition of home-grown fruits and vegetables. Here is the information you need to create a productive food garden. Available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library (call number SB324.3 G52 2011).

Rodale's Ultimate Encyclopedia of Organic Gardening

This comprehensive gardening resource will help you learn how to use natural and chemical-free methods to grow vegetables and fruit, perennials, annuals, bulbs, herbs, and trees and shrubs, maintain your landscape all year-round, and control pests. Available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library (call number SB453.5 R645 2009).


Online Resources

Introduction to Gardening Workshop from the Macdonald Campus Seed Library

Gardener's Advice

The Green Pages/Carnet horticole et botanique

Kitchen Garden Planner

The Old Farmer's Almanac

Gardening in Canada

Books

Growing Food in a Short Season: Sustainable, Organic Cold-Climate Gardening: This book explains that with the right gardening practices the short northern summer can lead to an explosion of life, and provides helpful hints and a wise gardening philosophy for a productive food garden. Begins at ground level with instruction on how to use compost and manure to create fertile soil that will lend its life to plants and presents a variety of seed options and planting methods suitable for short-season growing. Available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library (call number SB453.5 W38 2014).


Guide to Canadian Vegetable Gardening: Includes how-to and when to information for successful vegetable gardening thoughout the gardening regions in Canada. Filled with the need to know information on planting, growing and harvesting more than 50 vegetables and herbs. Includes full-color images and helpful maps and charts. Available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library (call number SB453.3 C2 G74 2009).


The New Canadian Garden: Explores new trends that are redefining today's gardening experiences: utilizing small urban spaces, balconies, patios, and even rooftops, and growing our own fruits, vegetables, and herbs, both at home and through community gardens. A must-have reference for anyone gardening in a Canadian climate. Available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library (call number SB453.3 C2 C943 2016).


Online Resources

Gardening Basics for Canadians

Gardening in Canada

Grow Your Own Food

Small-Space Gardening Techniques

Books

All New Square Foot Gardening: The Revolutionary Way to Grow More in Less Space: Presents an innovative grid-based method that enables the gardener to grow more produce in less space, with less work. Available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library (call number SB321 B275 2013).


The Everything Small-Space Gardening Book: Provides tips and information about creating such small gardens as layered, square-foot, vertical, and container gardens.  Available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library (call number SB453 A23 2012).


Grow Great Grub: Organic Food from Small Spaces: Presents advice for home gardeners on how to grow one's own food in limited spaces, providing coverage of such topics as container plants, organic pest control, and preserving home-grown foods. Available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library (call number SB453.5 T73 2010).


Square Metre Gardening for Canada: Provides a controlled, condensed method of growing herbs and vegetables involves raised, often boxed-in beds in optimal locations on your property and features soil and nutrients customized for the plants you’re growing. Available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library (call number SB453.3 C2 J437 2013).


Vertical Gardening: Grow Up, Not Out, For More Vegetables and Flowers in Much Less Space: Provides recommendations for the best plants for space-saving vertical gardening. The grow-up, grow-down system also shows which ground-level plants make good companions underneath and alongside climbing plants. Available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library (call number SB463.5 F45 2011).


Online Resources

46 Best Veggies, Herbs & Microgreens for Vertical Planting

My Square Foot Garden

Top Crops for Small Vegetable Gardens

Vegetable Gardening in a Small Space

20 Vertical Gardening Ideas for Turning a Small Space into a Big Harvest

Vertical Gardening Tips

Container Gardening

Books

Container Gardening for Dummies: Want to spruce up indoor or outdoor space with annuals, perennials, vegetables, and succulents? Get clear, concise step-by-step instructions for cultivating delightful gardens in everything from a redwood window box to a hanging basket to an old watering can. Available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library (call number SB418 M27 2010).


Edible Container Gardening for Canada: Dedicated to delightful mixed containers of edible plants, this book features over 200 varieties of herbs, vegetables and fruits and is uniquely organized around feature recipes. Each entry has a list of ingredients, care instructions, a planting diagram, feature photos and more. Available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library (call number SB418 S665 2013).


The Everything Small-Space Gardening Book: Provides tips and information about creating all types of small gardens, including container gardens. Available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library (call number SB453 A23 2012).


From Container to Kitchen: Growing Fruits and Vegetables in Pots: This book is designed for those residing in urban areas who wish to reap the benefits of organic, home gardening -- without the convenience of a personal yard for cultivation. Provides step-by-step instructions on everything from lighting to watering to bugs. Available as an ebook.


Permaculture in Pots: This guide provides a month to month calendar for growing food on a balcony or in a container garden using permaculture principles. Available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library (call number S494.5 P47 K46 2012).


The Vegetable Gardener's Container Bible: Presents information about growing vegetables in containers, covering such topics as selecting suitable pots, starting plants from seeds, and managing pests and diseases, with advice on individual vegetables and herbs. Available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library (call number SB418 S633 2011).


Online Resources

Container Gardening Guide

Container Gardening with Vegetables

Growing Food in Containers

Indoor Gardening

Books

Highrise Horticulture: A Guide to Gardening in Small Spaces: Simple guide to growing herbs and greens in an indoor environment.


Indoor Kitchen Gardening: If you make good plant choices and create a hospitable indoor environment, you can grow practically any produce you want indoors. With a little patience and the right equipment, you can grow microgreens, sprouts, herbs, mushrooms, tomatoes, peppers, and more--all inside your own home, where you won't have to worry about seasonal changes or weather conditions.


Online Resources

The 12 Best Edible Plants to Grow Indoors

Growing Food Plants in the Dorm Room

Indoor Gardening 101

Indoor Gardens

Planting Veggies in Your Dorm Room

What Veggies, Fruits, and Herbs Can I Grow Indoors?

Permaculture

Books

Grow a Sustainable Diet: Planning and Growing to Feed Ourselves and the Earth: Maximize your harvest and feed your soil by developing a customized plan for your garden. Available as an ebook.


The Permaculture Handbook: A step-by-step, illustrated guide to creating resilient and prosperous households and neighborhoods across America introduces permaculture as a practical way to live well with less money, convert waste into wealth, reduce dependence on fossil fuels, and increase the availability of local produce. Available as an ebook and in print at the Macdonald Campus Library (call number S494.5 P47 B36 2012).


Permaculture in Pots: This guide provides a month to month calendar for growing food on a balcony or in a container garden using permaculture principles. Available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library (call number S494.5 P47 K46 2012).


Online Resources

The Permaculture Knowledge Base

Starting Your Permaculture Garden

Librarian

Profile Photo
Dana Ingalls
Contact:
Macdonald Campus Library
Barton Building
21111 Lakeshore Rd.
Ste-Anne-de-Bellevue, QC
H9X 3V9
(514) 398-7576

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice