Chemistry

Learn about patents from ACS: What Every Chemist Should Know About Patents (fourth edition, 2019).

Concept-based searching

In order to pull up all relevant patents, it is important to search by concepts. This involves using expanded vocabulary and key terms to describe a technology. Terminology is always changing and varies around the world.

• Visit our concept mapping guide to learn how to extract the main concepts.
• Brainstorm synonyms, antonyms and alternative ways of capturing each concept.
• Take advantage of patent classification codes:
  • International Patent Classification (IPC) - Used by all patent offices
  • Cooperative Patent Classification (CPC) - Jointly developed by the EPO and USPTO, modelled heavily on the IPC

Search patent databases

• CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform - Start your chemistry patent searches here.
• Derwent Innovations Index - Covers more than 47 worldwide patent-issuing authorities. Includes patent citation information.
• Google Patents - Patents and applications from the USPTO, EPO, and WIPO
• The Lens - Includes a scholar search to find citations in patents

Go directly to a patent-issuing authority or the WIPO

• Canadian Intellectual Patent Office (CIPO) - Search the Canadian Patents Database for the full text of Canadian patents and applications. This database lets you access 146 years of patent descriptions and images.
• United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) - The USPTO patents page provides strategies for finding US patents and patent applications, and outlines a suggested procedure for patent searching. Use Public PAIR for patent history and status information.
• European Patent Office (EPO) - Search Espacenet for free access to more than 90 million patent documents worldwide, containing information about inventions and technical developments from 1836 to today. 
• World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) - Search PATENTSCOPE for International Patent Applications filed under the PCT (Patent Cooperation Treaty), as well as patent collections from numerous participating countries and organizations.

Prior art searches

Prior art searches should extend beyond patents to include non-patent literature. Contact me if you'd like some help.

• ​Inspec - Search using International Patent Classification (IPC) codes to find non-patent literature in physics and engineering within the same code structure used for patents. Find out more on this feature from the Institution of Engineering and Technology.

Patenting inventions

McGill community members should visit the Research and Innovation website for information on disclosing an invention and investigating its commercialization potential.