Linguistics

Background Information

• Ethnologue : languages of the World : The Ethnologue is an encyclopedic reference work cataloging all of the world's 7,111 known living languages. The Ethnologue is intended to be used as a catalog that provides summary data of identified languages. Information comes from numerous sources and is confirmed by consulting both reliable published sources and a network of field correspondents.
• Concise compendium of the world's languages
• Facts about the world's languages : an encyclopedia of the world's major languages, past and present
• An introduction to the languages of the world
• The languages of the world
• An introduction to African languages
• Native Languages of Americas
• The Language Archive contains various types of materials, including: audio and video language corpus data from languages around the world; photographs, notes, experimental data, and other relevant information required to document and describe languages and how people use them; records of speech in everyday interactions in families and communities; naturalistic data from adult conversations from endangered and under-studied languages, and linguistic phenomena (from the website)
   

  Series:  
  Mouton grammar library extensive collection of descriptions of languages around the world; comprehensive grammatical description of a single language; analyzed sample texts; word list and other relevant information which is available on the language;
  Routledge grammars  guides to the entire grammar system of each language. 
  Pacific Linguistic Series
   

             Handbooks

• The Oxford handbook of Japanese linguistics  
• Handbook of descriptive linguistic fieldwork
• The Handbook of Linguistics.
• A checklist of languages and present-day villages of central and south-east mainland Papua,
• Handbook of Japanese lexicon and word formation
• The Routledge handbook of African linguistics
• The handbook of Korean linguistics
• The Oxford handbook of Chinese linguistics
• Handbook of Western Australian Aboriginal languages south of the Kimberley Regio
  
  Endangered Languages
• ELP The Endangered Languages Project
• Encyclopedia of the world's endangered languages
• The Oxford Handbook of Endangered Languages 
• The vanishing Languages of the Pacific Rim
• The Cambridge handbook of endangered languages
• Documenting Endangered Languages : Achievements and Perspectives

          Selected Grammars 

• A grammar of Unua
• Kokota grammar
• A reference grammar of the Onondaga language
• A grammar of (Western) Garrwa
• Ute reference grammar
• A grammar of Bilinarra : an Australian aboriginal language of the Northern Territory
• A grammar of Central Alaskan Yupik (CAY)
• A Typological Grammar of Panare, a Cariban Language of Venezuela
• A grammar of Mavea : an oceanic language of Vanuatu
• A grammar of Mian
• The Tangam language : grammar, lexicon and texts
• A grammar of Dhimal
• Coastal Dhofari Arabic : a sketch grammar
• A Grammar of Kwaza
• A descriptive grammar of Ket (Yenisei-Ostyak)
• A grammar of Yakkha.
• A grammar of Yauyos Quechua
• A grammar of Pite Saami
• A grammar of Komnzo
• A grammar of Mauwake
• A grammar of Pévé