Linguistics

Sources for Background Information

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

• Encyclopedia of cognitive science
• Key concepts in language and linguistics
• The concise Oxford dictionary of linguistics
• International encyclopedia of linguistics
• Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics
• Encyclopedia of the Human Brain
• International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences
• The MIT encyclopedia of the cognitive sciences
• The Linguistics Student's Handbook (2d ed.) (New chapters on Panini, the Neogrammarians, figures of speech and writing systems; new coverage on punctuation, spelling and academic writing; 15 new languages added to the Language File section including Bororo, Kuuk Thaayorre, Mapuche, Seediq, Tamashek, Ute) 

Core and Additional Databases

• LLBA (Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts) 1973- The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
• Linguistic Bibliography Online (Brill)  the most comprehensive bibliography in the field. It is unique in its extensive coverage of non-Indo-European and lesser-known Indo-European languages, with special attention paid to endangered and extinct languages. Covers all disciplines of theoretical linguistics, both general and language specific. The online edition contains all entries of the printed volumes as of 1993-
  LBO User Guide
  Advanced Search and Search tips and tricks
• Bibliography of Linguistic Literature , the online version of the Bibliography of Linguistic Literature (BLL), is one of the major sources of information on the internet for general linguistics with all its neighbouring disciplines and subdomains as well as English, German and Romance linguistics. Other languages are also covered to a smaller extent. The bibliography lists journal articles, articles of conference proceedings, and other collective works as well as monographs, dissertations, and Festschrifts. Coverage: 1971+
  How to use BLL 
• Ethnologue : languages of the World : The Ethnologue is an encyclopedic reference work cataloging all of the world's 7,111 known living languages.
• ERIC
• MLA Bibliography 1963-
• ProQuest Research Library
• Oxford bibliographies. Linguistics.

• Thesis and Dissertations

  • ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
  • eScholarship - An open access digital repository of publications and theses of McGill University faculty and students

Selected Internet Sites

• McGill University Department of Linguistics
• McGill English and French Language Centre
• Center for Applied Linguistics
• Linguistics Working Papers Directory
• MIT Linguistics Dissertations (abstracts)
• Glottolog 
• Ethnologue: Languages of the World
• Linguistic Rights Links and Resources (MOST, UNESCO)
• Directory of Open Access Journals in Linguistics
• International Dialects of English Archive
• International Phonetic Association (IPA)
• Semantics Archive
• Linguist List
• Linguistic Society of America
• National Institute for Japanese Language and Linguistics
• Phonological Atlas of North America (Created by the Telsur Project at the Linguistics Laboratory at the University of Pennsylvania)
• UNESCO Red Book of Endangered Languages
• Linguistic Data Consortium

• Scopus
• Web of Science
• Scimago Journal and Country Rank
• The Eigenfactor Journal Ranking