Skip to main content

Educational and counselling psychology

Dictionaries

Covers all branches of psychology, including psychoanalysis, psychiatry, criminology, neuroscience, and statistics

This dictionary captures the characteristics of psychology as a living, scientific discipline by focusing on several defining characteristics such as comprehensive, interdisciplinary, and international and cross-cultural.

Encyclopedias

Provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of psychology

Detailed overviews of important concepts and areas of research in the field of education. 

Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioural and social sciences fields

Authoritative annotated bibliographies on key topics in psychology

Handbooks

Includes information on testing and assessment in clinical and counseling psychology, as well as school psychology and education.

A comprehensive summary of research into child development from age two to seven

Includes discoveries based in neuroscience, evidence-based practice and mindfulness, and social, developmental, and forensic psychology

A  full-text database that provides electronic access to thousands of scholarly and professional titles published by the American Psychological Association (APA), including the most recent titles in psychological and behavioral science, plus a substantial backfile of classic and historic works.

The psychological assessment of children and youth has undergone significant developments, which are the focus of this Handbook. The volume is organized primarily, but not exclusively, around clinical and psychoeducational assessment issues.

A feminist multicultural perspective to core domains within counseling psychology such as ethical frameworks, lifespan development, identity formation and change, growth-oriented and ecological assessment, and career theory and practice

Includes theoretical overviews from some of the best-known thinkers in this area, including articles on Social Learning Theory, Control Theory, Self-determination Theory, Terror Management Theory, and the Promotion and Prevention perspective. 

This seminal Handbook fulfills an urgent need to consider how digital technologies are impacting the lives and learning of young children; and how childhood experiences of using digital resources can serve as the foundation for present and future development.

Recognized as the standard reference in the field, this combines basic experimental psychology and cognitive neuroscience

Librarian

Emily Kingsland's picture
Emily Kingsland
Contact:
Humanities and Social Sciences Library
Bibliothèque des sciences humaines et sociales
3459 McTavish
Montreal, Quebec
H3A 0C9
514-398-4782

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice