Skip to main content

Educational and counselling psychology

Core databases

Key database for psychology. Includes citations to professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, pharmacology, physiology and linguistics

Quick reference guide - how to search PsycINFO

Brief video on PsycINFO (15 min)

Sign up for free live training webinars offered by the PsycINFO database providers 

Full-text database for education, with journal articles and other education-related material such as books and reports. It is available in three interfaces (the content is identical):

Full-text database of articles in journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Also includes APA handbooks and psychological tests and measurements

Quick reference guide - how to search PsycArticles

Covers the literature on primary, secondary, higher education, special education, home schooling, adult education, and related topics

Guide on how to search Education Database

Multidisciplinary databases

Multidisciplinary database of journal articles in science, social science, and humanities. Allows for citation searching. 

Multidisciplinary database of journal articles in science, social science, and humanities. Allows for citation searching.

Additional databases

A subject index to over 300 alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers,and magazines. International and interdisciplinary, spanning the social sciences and humanities. Subjects covered include indigenous peoples, LGBTQ+, feminism, ecology, and democracy.

Covers records for articles, books, and videos on autism (from the National Autistic Society, UK)

Includes protocols and abstracts of peer-reviewed sources of evidence on the effectiveness of social and behavioural interventions. Subjects covered include education, criminal justice, and social welfare

Extensive coverage of nursing and allied health

Database of theoretical and applied linguistics, psycholinguistics, and language research

Largest biomedical database essential for health care research

Brief video on MEDLINE (15 min)

Brief video on advanced search techniques in MEDLINE (11 min)

Sign up for free live training webinars by the MEDLINE database provider

A  full-text database that provides electronic access to thousands of scholarly and professional titles published by the American Psychological Association (APA), including the most recent titles in psychological and behavioral science, plus a substantial backfile of classic and historic works.

Contains journals on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development

Contains core social work and related journals in all areas of the social work profession

Theses and dissertations

Search the following tools to find theses and dissertations:

  • eScholarship@McGill 

    • An open access digital repository of publications and theses of McGill University faculty and students.
  • ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
    • Summaries and/or full text of dissertations from McGill University, as well as from other participating North American and European institutions. 

Librarian

Emily Kingsland's picture
Emily Kingsland
Contact:
Humanities and Social Sciences Library
Bibliothèque des sciences humaines et sociales
3459 McTavish
Montreal, Quebec
H3A 0C9
514-398-4782

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice