Skip to Main Content

Jewish Studies

Jewish Music, Theatre and Films

  • Israel Film Archives/Jerusalem Cinematheque Thousands of features, documentaries, newsreels, industrial films, and home movies from 19th century to the present day.
  • Jewish Film Institute. 450 curated titles from past Festivals and programs indexed to stream on their online platform JFI ON Demand.
  • Jewish Music Stream Online internet radio station.
  • National Center for Jewish Film. An independent nonprofit motion picture archive, distributor, resource center and exhibitor.
  • National Yiddish Theatre Folksbiene. The National Yiddish Theatre Folksbiene is the longest-running Yiddish theatre company in the world.
  • Ruth Rubin Sound Archive. The centerpiece of the Ruth Rubin Archive (RG 620) is Rubin’s 135-volume collection of field recordings, containing over 2,500 songs, assembled from 78pm acetate discs, reel-to-reel tapes and cassettes recorded by Rubin from 1946 though the 1970s. The Archive also contains sound documents of Rubin’s numerous lectures, concerts, and radio interviews.
  • Stonehill Jewish Song Archive. This website, in its initial release, contains over sixty songs drawn from the Ben Stonehill Archive. The Stonehill Archive totals over one thousand songs, and over time we will be working to put all of them up on this site.
  • Yiddish Playscripts (Library of Congress). The 77 unpublished manuscripts presented in this collection include light comedies and dramas, and have been selected from the more than 1,290 copyright-deposit plays known as the Marwick Collection and housed in the Hebraic Section of the African and Middle Eastern Division.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Sonia Smith
Contact:
McGill University
Nahum Gelber Law Library
3660 Peel
Montreal, QC H3A 1W9
Canada
514-398-4715 ext. 09177
Subjects: Jewish studies, Law

Need help? Ask us!

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice