Jewish Studies

Encyclopedias, handbooks, atlas

• Bloomsbury companion to Jewish Studies A comprehensive reference guide, providing an overview of Jewish Studies as it has developed as an academic sub-discipline.
• The Cambridge dictionary of Judaism and Jewish culture An authoritative and accessible reference work detailing the concepts and movements that distinguish Judaism and the Jewish experience.
• Codex Judaica : chronological index of Jewish history, covering 5,764 years of Biblical, Talmudic & post-Talmudic history Jewish History of over 5,000 years in a year by year format, with heavy cross-referencing and exhaustive index.
• Concise Companion to the Jewish Religion (Oxford) A wealth of information on every aspect of Jewish belief and practice, both ancient and modern.
• Dictionary of Iberian Jewish and Converso Authors A very complete biography of authors and their work.
• Encyclopedia Judaica Includes more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists.
• Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics Articles that provide a synopsis of current knowledge of the major periods and varieties of Hebrew and of the various approaches to its linguistic analysis.
• Encyclopedia of Jewish folklore and traditions Reference work on Jewish folklore, legends, customs, including over 250 A-Z original, signed articles that cover major themes, beliefs, traditions, and folkways of Jewish groups around the world.
• Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic world Reference work which covers the Jews of Muslim lands particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods.
• Encyclopedia of modern Jewish culture This encyclopedia covers the humanities, arts, social sciences, sport and popular culture, and provides overviews to aspects of culture in the Jewish world.
• Encyclopedia of the Jewish diaspora : origins, experiences, and culture A great resource on the evolution and dynamics of the Jewish Diaspora as it played out around the world--from its beginnings to the present.
• Encyclopedia of the Pioneers and Builders of Israel Contains 19 volumes and about 6,000 biographies on Jewish leaders and settlers in Palestine from the 19th century up to the year 1970.
• Modern Hebrew Literature - a Bio-Bibliographical Lexicon A Hebrew database of 2,000 entries updated daily about Hebrew authors.
• Jewish Women. A Comprehensive Historical Encyclopedia Documents history and achievements of Jewish women from biblical times to present day and shed light on their changing roles worldwide.
• Oxford Bibliographies Online: Jewish Studies Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship
• The Oxford dictionary of the Jewish religion A reference work on the religious life of historical and contemporary Jewry. Entries range from brief 50 word definitions to 3000 word essays on major issues.
• The Palgrave dictionary of medieval Anglo-Jewish history Using a wide range of rich original sources, this unique reference guide provides a remarkable picture of England medieval Jewry.
• Routledge who’s who in Jewish history: after the period of the Old Testament Covering twenty centuries of Jewish history, this volume provides a thoroughly updated reference guide to over 1,000 prominent men and women who have shaped Jewish culture.
• Who’s who in the Jewish Bible This reference work offers comprehensive bibliographies of every character mentioned by name in the Hebrew Bible
• The YIVO encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe The history and culture of Eastern European Jews from their first settlement in the region to the present day.
• The YIVO encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe, Online edition This encyclopedia provides the most complete picture of the history and culture of Jews in Eastern Europe from the beginnings of their settlement in the region to the present.