Guides: Bioinformatics: Finding articles and more

Find out about accessing the Library's online resources from on and off campus and requesting items not in the Library collection through Interlibrary Loan.

Literature databases

arXiv
arXiv is an openly accessible, moderated repository for scholarly articles in physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology and statistics.
BIOSIS Citation Index (Web of Science)
Life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Access content from journals, meetings, patents, and books. Backfiles available to 1926.
PubMed (McGill)
Free access to bibliographic information from MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, other non-indexed citations, and NCBI Books.
SciFinder
Chemical Abstracts plus substance and reaction information. Start your searches for topic and substance information here.
Scopus (Elsevier)
Multidisciplinary. Provides citation counts, h-index, and patent searching.
Web of Science Core Collection (All Indexes)
Multidisciplinary. Features citation counts, h-index, and access to Journal Citation Reports for journal impact factors.

Includes Citation Indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present), Book Citation Index– Science (2005-present), Book Citation Index– Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present). Chemical Indexes include: Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present, plus Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840), and Index Chemicus (1993-present).

Theses and dissertations

eScholarship - McGill theses

McGill's open access institutional repository. Includes theses and dissertations, articles, conference proceedings, books and more.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text

International in scope, contains millions of works from thousands of universities. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.

OAIster

A database of open access resources that allows you to search multiple archives at once. Set the Content option to Theses/Dissertations to limit the search.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)

An international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations

Theses Canada