Covers the major theories, research, people, and issues in contemporary gender studies. Offers a cross-national/cross-cultural perspective that provides comparative analyses of the life experiences of men and women around the world.
Covers gender differences, the "Psychology of Women" and the "Psychology of Men", discussing psychological differences in personality, cognition, and behavior, as well as biologically based differences and how those differences impact behavior.
Presents a unified and comprehensive vision of its field, and its new directions. It demonstrates in action the rich interplay between gender and other markers of social position and (dis)privilege, such as race, class, ethnicity, and nationality.
Call Number: CT3260 N57 - Humanities and Social Sciences Library
Located in the reference collection of the 1st floor of the McLennan Library Building.
This access code card gives you access to all of MyHistoryLab's grade-boosting resources! Want a complete e-book of your textbook, too? Buy immediate access to MyHistoryLab with E-Book online with a credit card atwww.myhistorylab.com.
Tierney's highly acclaimed Women's Studies Encyclopedia has become the standard in the field, but research on women has proceeded rapidly since its publication. Feminist thought has grown and branched out, and women's conditions have changed markedly in some areas. This revised and expanded edition will meet the continuing need for a multidisciplinary reference tool on all facets of the female condition. With close to 400 contributors, it expands coverage of such areas as violence against women, women in public life, and women in specific countries and regions. Many of the articles are new or completely rewritten, while others have been updated or expanded. The encyclopedia contains information about women from all fields and disciplines of study, written in non-specialist language accessible to all readers. It will continue to be a useful resource for students and scholars doing research outside their fields, and the interested layperson.
Librarian for Gender, Sexuality, Feminist and Social Justice Studies