Guides: Women's Studies: Finding Scholarly Publications

About GSFS databases

The databases listed below will provide you with bibliographical references to scholarly articles, working papers, trade publications and news articles. When searching in any of these databases, be sure to look at the refining facets / refining menus that can help you limit your search results by publication type, language, geography, year, etc.

Gender Studies Database

Gender Studies Database (EBSCO)
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with coverage of issues related to sexual diversity. Includes gender-engaged scholarship from 1972 to the present.

GenderWatch Database

GenderWatch (ProQuest)
Database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas, and a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports and contains archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases.

Contemporary Women's Issues (CWI)

CWI : Contemporary Women's Issues (Gale)
A periodical collection supporting research on issues that influence Women's lives across the globe.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Scopus (Elsevier)
Multidisciplinary database of scholarly journals. Also allows for citation tracking and Scopus journal impact metrics.
Web of Science Core Collection (All Indexes)
Multidisciplinary database of scholarly journals. Also allows for citation tracking and shows Web of Science journal impact factor.
ProQuest Research Library
Multidisciplinary database of scholarly journals, books, book chapters, conference proceedings reports and news sources.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Multidisciplinary database of scholarly journals, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, reports and news sources.

Thesis and Dissertations

eScholarship@McGill
eScholarship is a digital repository which stores and showcases the publications and theses of McGill University faculty, researchers, and students.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Full-text of dissertations from McGill University as well as 3,100 worldwide universities. Full-text PDFs available for all non-embargoed dissertations and theses from 1997 – forward, with select full text available prior to 1997.
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub

Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)
Federated search engine that searches the Open Access Institutional Repositories of university libraries across the globe.

Liaison Librarian for Gender, Sexuality, and Feminist Studies

Michael David MILLER

il / he

Email me

Contact:

Subjects: Economics, Feminist studies, French language and literature, International development, LGBTQ studies, Public policy, Québec studies, Translation studies

Instant Message with your Liaison Librarian

Instant message with MDM
Use this link to chat directly with your Liaison Librarian. Simply log in with your McGill email and password in Microsoft Office 365. I am usually available between 9:00 EST and 17:00 EST Monday-Friday.