1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Rare and unique content from newsletters, organisational papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more. Truly global in scope, Part I: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 features historical documents published in more than 35 countries, with over 15 languages represented.
Includes reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health.Documents span from 1940 to 2014, with the bulk from 1950 to 1990.
The collection currently includes 122 document projects and archives with 4,900 documents and more than 168,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by more than 2,600 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
Access to digitized trans collections from archives and libraries from across the globe. Notably, collections from the Transgender Archives of the University of Victoria, the CLGA, the Jean-Nickolaus Tretter Collection of the University of Minnesota and so many more.
Full text access to 26 of the biggest LGBTQ+ publication of the past 7 decades. This resources requires a BAnQ membership that is free of charge to any person living in Québec.
Global in scope, the archive presents materials covering the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. A wide range of primary sources provide a close look at some of the pioneers of women's history, a deep dive into the issues that have affected women, and the many contributions they have made to society.
Women's Issues and Identities spans multiple geographic regions, providing a variety of perspectives on women's experiences and cultural impact. Within the archive can be found fascinating historical records from Europe, North and South America, Africa, India, East Asia, and the Pacific Rim with content in English, French, German, and Dutch.
Women and Social Movements, International is a landmark collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820 explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices. With a clear focus on bringing the voices of the colonized to the forefront, this highly-curated archive and database includes documents related to the Habsburg Empire, the Ottoman Empire, the British, French, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and United States Empires, and settler societies in the United States, New Zealand and Australia.
Includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters. The collection now includes primary materials spanning more than 300 years.
Defining Gender provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.
Over 70,000 streaming films and documentaries.
Use the filter by subject to find films on gender, sexuality, race, women, feminism, social justice etc.
444 documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.
- Press : Newspapers, Magazines and journals, News web content, Links to new sites, Press releases & News wires
- Television and radio : Television, Radio & WebTV
- Studies and reports : Reports, studies, PowerPoint® presentations, data sets obtained from recognized organizations and companies
- 61 news a newspaper sources from across the planet
- Selection of resources in this database :
- Alt-PressWatch : 210 independent publications
- GenderWatch
- Canadian Newsstream
- US Newsstream
Liaison Librarian for Gender, Sexuality, and Feminist Studies
Use this link to chat directly with your Liaison Librarian. Simply log in with your McGill email and password in Microsoft Office 365. I am usually available between 9:00 EST and 17:00 EST Monday-Friday.
