Skip to Main Content

Islamic manuscripts & rare books

Welcome - Merhaba - أهلا وسهلا - Hoşgeldiniz - خوش آمدید ! This guide details useful sources for the study of Islamic rare books and manuscripts. It focuses primarily on materials held at McGill, and projects realized by the Islamic Studies Library.

WorldCat Discovery

SEARCH MCGILL UNIVERSITY LIBRARY AND BEYOND

 

Sofia Discovery Tool Guide

Islamic manuscripts at McGill

"Inshāʼ-i Abū al-Faz̤l" 16th century manuscript held in the McGill Rare Books and Special Collections -RBD MS Persian 0028

RBD MS Persian 0028

The Islamic manuscripts at McGill are in Arabic, Persian, Ottoman Turkish and a few other languages:

Islamic manuscripts are preserved in the Rare Books and Special Collections library located on the 4th floor of the McLennan building.

Islamic rare books at McGill

Urdu lithographed copy of the "Shahnameh" held in the McGill Rare Books and Special Collections - PK6456.5 U73 1800

Urdu lithographed copy of the "Shahnameh" held in the McGill Rare Books and Special Collections - PK6456.5 U73 1800

شاہنامۂ اردو / فردوسي - PK6456.5 U73 1800

The Islamic rare books at McGill is made of a number of collections in a variety of Islamic and European languages:

  • the Islamic lithographs Collection is made of over 700 titles of which 380 in Arabic, 342 in Persian, 36 in Ottoman Turkish and the rest in Urdu, French and Pushto covering a wide range of literary and scientific topics
  • the Urdu rare books Collection includes more than 900 titles, among which approximately 240 lithographs, embracing all aspects of the South-Asian Islamic culture
  • the Ibrahim Müteferrika Incunabula collection includes 13 volumes published in Istanbul between 1729 and 1742 covering non-religious disciplines, primarily History and Geography.
  • the European early imprints Collection includes approximately 1,900 volumes in English, French, German, Dutch, Spanish, Russian, etc.

McGill Islamic rare books are preserved in the Rare Books and Special Collections library located on the 4th floor of the McLennan building.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Anaïs Salamon
She / Her / Hers
Contact:
3485 McTavish Street
Montreal, QC
H3A 0E1
514-398-4688
Website Skype Contact: anais.salamon@mcgill.ca

Romanization & transliteration

To search the Library catalogue, use the Library of Congress romanization tables  for ArabicOttoman TurkishPersian  and Urdu.

For other ALA-LC romanization Tables click here.

Suggested fonts for the romanization:

  1. Unicode fonts
  2. New Times Arabic

A tool for Mac users: The Arabic Macintosh: an informal resource centre

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice