Skip to Main Content
Repertoire search tools and general resources
- African Diaspora Music Project
- Online resource for artistic administrators, performers, and conductors to program the orchestral music of black composers; provides publishing information and score samples where possible
- List of composers and links to their websites
- …and we were heard
- Provides a platform to underrepresented composers to have their music heard by hosting audio tracks of their compositions on the website
- Explore their databases with repertoire lists for band and orchestral music
- BIPOC Canadian Composers
- Dataset comprising a list of composers who identify as Black, Indigenous, or People of Colour (BIPOC) with a connection to Canada (e.g. are Canadian, working in Canada, or from an Indigenous nation situated in what is now known as Canada)
- Includes two additional datasets: one identifying publishers that produce scores by these composers, and one with other sources for identifying works by BIPOC composers
- BIPOC Voices
- Assists orchestras, opera companies, and chamber players program works for solo voices and instruments by composers who are Black, Indigenous, or People of Colour (BIPOC)
- Creates and showcases orchestral recordings of previously-unrecorded works or excerpts
- Browse their curated lists of repertoire for chamber ensemble, orchestra, and voice
- Black Composers - Scores
- Links to library holdings of scores of Black composers of classical music
- Clicking on a name will yield the composer's scores in Worldcat (a worldwide library catalogue)
- Clicking on the title of a work will show the libraries that own the work
- Catalogue of the Musical Works of the Archive of Mexico City Cathedral
- Catalogue of the music manuscripts and music books of the archive of Cabildo Catedral Metropolitano de la Ciudad de México
- Institute for Composer Diversity
- The Institute encourages the discovery, study, and performance of music by composers from underrepresented groups
- Search the Composer Diversity Database using various criteria, including demographics, gender and sexuality, genre, and location. Users can consult their advance search options for its database for instruction
- Resources include best practices for diverse programming and an extensive bibliography of resources about diverse composers
- Music by Black Composers
- Provides several repertoire lists and directories of living and historic black composers
- Música colonial scores
- Transcribed scores from the Música Colonial Archive, drawn from the original collection at the Cathedral in Guatemala City
- Vocal and choral music
- Crowdsourced wiki
- New Muses Project
- Database provides composer recommendations based on parameters such as historical era, influences, genres composed, location, style, and sound, with the objective of promoting underrepresented composers
Sheet music collections
- African American Sheet Music
- Digital collection selected from the Sheet Music Collection at the John Hay Library at Brown University
- Approximately 6,000 pieces of music by and relating to African Americans, from the 1820s to the present day
- 1,700 items are fully catalogued and digitized
- Louisiana Sheet Music
- This collection is comprised of sheet music published in, or with topical relevance to, Louisiana (with an emphasis on New Orleans)
- Covers 100 years in the history of local publishing (1838-1938) and represents a wide range of styles of popular and vernacular music
- Many important local composers are represented
- Smithsonian Online Virtual Archives
