Skip to main content

Rare Books reference guide: The printed book

Authenticity of Print Materials (Library of Congress webcast & transcript)

Canadian Publishers' Records. A database of archival holdings of papers relating to Canadian publishers and publishing in Canada.

CERL Portal. This database cross searches a number of European and Yalt's manuscript collection catalogues as well as the Hand Press Book database, which lists books printed between 1450 and 1830.

CERL Thesaurus. This database has information about names and places associated with books printed in the hand press era (1450-1830), including variants. This is a reference tool for bibliographers and scholars of the history of the book. It supports internal linking between imprint places and imprint names, so that the user can see which printers are recorded in the CERL Thesaurus as having worked in a specific printing place, thus giving valuable new insights into book production in Europe in the hand-press eravery useful for determining variants and modern terminology for information about books, such as Lunnyng = London.

English Short Title Catalogue. Contains records for works printed in any language in England or its dependencies from the beginning of printing through the end of the eighteenth century, as well as works printed in English anywhere else in the world during that period. Includes the former Eighteenth-Century Short-Title Catalogue (ESTC) and the two print short-title catalogues covering 1475-1640 (Pollard & Redgrave) and 1641-1700 (Wing).

Melbourne Museum of Printing. An interesting site that explains various printing techniques, with many illustrations and an extensive glossary of type and printing terms.

Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue. "Aims to provide increasingly complete listings of British books printed between 1801-1919. British books are taken to include all books published in Britain, its colonies and United States of America; all books in English wherever published; and all translations from English."

Place Names

  • Latin Place Names - found in the imprints of books printed before 1801
  • Peddie, Robert Alexander. Place names in imprints: an index to the Latin and other forms used on title pagesLondon, Grafton, 1932.  (Detroit: Gale Research Co., 1968.) Z125 P37 Rare Books/Special Collections - Reference

Printer's Devices. A database of the "trademark" symbols used by printers.

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice