Skip to main content

Public Health

Temporary relocation of the Schulich Library of Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, & Engineering

Temporary relocation of the Schulich Library of
Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, and Engineering (2019-21)

Where are the collections? They are in the Redpath Basement and items can be requested from the catalogue. The space will open to the public on July 29, 2019. Course Reserves, the Reference Collection, and Standards are on the main floor of the McLennan Library Building. 

Where are the services and study spaces? Services and additional study spaces are available at the Humanities and Social Sciences Library.

Where are the staff? They are now in the Humanities and Social Sciences Library; the librarians are on the 6th floor of the McLennan Library Building.

For further updates on the renovation project, please see the project page.

Information on citation

Citing your sources

If you are collecting references for a project, looking for information on how to cite within a particular discipline, or interested in using software to collect and automatically format your in-text citations and bibliography in the proper citation style, the following pages may be of use:

  • Citation Guides - General information on citation as well as information on what's available at McGill (for example, EndNote, which is free for McGill staff and students) and how to get support
  • Life Sciences Citation Style - Information on citing in Vancouver (author-number system), APA (author-date style), CSE
  • Citation Styles - Useful citation guides for other commonly used citation styles
  • Citation Styles by Subject

If you are writing a paper for a course, ask your professors what citation style they recommend. If you are publishing a journal article in the health sciences, consult the instructions for authors database or the journal website to find out what citation style they require your references to be formatted in.

 

Background Information

Sample of books and reference works

Finding and Using Ebooks

Finding and using ebooks, information for mobile devices

Core Databases for Finding Articles

Core databases for finding articles and more

Additional Databases

Additional databases for finding articles and more

Guidance on reviews

Guidance on reviews

See also:

Evidence-Informed Resources

Evidence-informed public health resources

  • General Sites for Public Health Research Evidence (NCCMT) - Information resources broken down by the layers of the 6S Pyramid (Video on using search pyramids)
  • Health Systems Evidence - Syntheses of research about governance, financial & delivery arrangements, and implementation strategies within health systems
  • DoPHER - Database of Promoting Health Effectiveness Reviews
  • Health Evidence - "Methodologically-sound reviews of health promotion and public health interventions published from 1985 to the present"
  • PDQ-Evidence for Informed Health Policymaking - Includes systematic reviews (syntheses) and overviews of reviews (synopses), with coverage including public health
  • Learning Centre (National Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools) - Learning modules to guide you through the steps of evidence-informed decision making
  • Social Systems Evidence (beta) - "Syntheses of research evidence about the programs, services and products available in a broad range of government sectors and program areas (e.g., community and social services, culture and gender, economic development and growth, education, and transportation) as well as the governance, financial and delivery arrangements within which the[y] [...] are provided, and the implementation strategies that can help to ensure that these programs, services and products get to those who need them"
  • SUPPORT tool (SUPporting POlicy relevant Reviews and Trials (SUPPORT) Project) - "Can be used to design implementation strategies for evidence-based policies, with implementation strategies involving clients, communities, practitioners, organizations and public health systems."

Federal and provincial

Federal and all provinces: Useful sites

Quebec: Useful sites

Health Policy

Sample resources: Health policy in Canada

Sample resources: Health policy research in Canada and at McGill

Librarian

Genevieve Gore's picture
Genevieve Gore
Contact:
Schulich Library of Science & Engineering
514.398.3472
Website Skype Contact: genatlibrary

Questions?

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice