Guides: Public Health: Article databases

Core databases for finding articles

Cochrane Library
Embase Classic + Embase (Ovid)
Embase Classic 1947-1973.
Global Health (Current + Archive, 1910-) (Ovid)
"Covers aspects related to human health including communicable diseases, tropical diseases, parasitic diseases and parasitology, human nutrition, community and public health, and medicinal and poisonous plants. Includes foreign language journals, books, research reports, patents and standards, dissertations, conference proceedings, annual reports, public health, developing country information, and other difficult to obtain material. 1910 to present."
10 simultaneous users.
MEDLINE (OVID) ALL, 1946-
Ovid MEDLINE® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
Public Health Database (Proquest)
Access to over 800 publications with over 500 in full-text. Contains journals, news, trade publications, reports and more. Included in ProQuest Central.
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
PubMed (McGill)
Free platform for searching MEDLINE
Scopus (Elsevier)
Curated abstract and citation database, updated daily with enriched data and linked scholarly content for Health, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. Worldwide peer-reviewed literature includes scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings.

TRoPHI (Trials Register of Promoting Health Interventions)

Web of Science Core Collection (All Indexes)
Includes Citation Indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present), Book Citation Index– Science (2005-present), Book Citation Index– Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present). Chemical Indexes include: Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present, plus Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840), and Index Chemicus (1993-present).

Additional databases

Cairn
Collection of publications in the French language available online in full text, covering many disciplines, including public health.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)
provides comprehensive coverage of journal literature related to nursing and the allied health disciplines
GIDEON (Global Infectious Disease and Epidemiology Network)
Research and point of care tool for diagnosing diseases, identifying pathogens, and research and analysis. Access is 1 concurrent user.
Global Index Medicus (World Health Organization)
Provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries.
Google Scholar
See "Punctuation, symbols & operators in search": https://support.google.com/websearch/answer/2466433?hl=en&ref_topic=3180167&rd=1
HealthSTAR (Ovid)
"Covers evaluation of patient outcomes; effectiveness of procedures, programs, products, services and processes; administration and planning of health facilities, services and manpower; health insurance; health policy; health services research; health economics and financial management; laws and regulation; personnel administration; quality assurance; licensure; and accreditation. Contains citations and abstracts (when available) to journal articles, monographs, technical reports, meeting abstracts and papers, book chapters, government documents, and newspaper articles. 1966 to present."
LILACS (Virtual Health Library)
Latin American and Caribbean health sciences literature. Includes records of peer reviewed journals, theses and dissertations, government documents, conference proceedings, books, and more. Recommended by Cochrane.
Online Health Information Aid
PAIS Index (ProQuest)
This resource covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. PAIS International is the current file covering 1972 to present, and PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976.
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
Policy File Index (ProQuest)
Policy File Index is a resource for U.S. public policy research. Access to information from public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, and advocacy groups. Coverage from 1990 - current
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
subject coverage: Social science, Public policy, International relations, Public administration.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Full-text of dissertations from McGill University as well as 3,100 worldwide universities. Full-text PDFs available for all non-embargoed dissertations and theses from 1997 – forward, with select full text available prior to 1997.
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
PsycINFO 1806-present (Ovid)
Index database for psychology. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, pharmacology, physiology and linguistics.
* Quick reference guide - How to search PsycINFO
SafetyLit
“Searchable database of literature on Injury prevention.”
Trends & Policy: U.S. Environment, U.S. Healthcare and U.S. Immigration (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Trends and Policy merges content from a variety of sources and presents them in a unique interface designed to connect various policies of the United States to their trending results. Collections include public laws and hearings, Legislative branch reports, Executive branch reports and data, and present day and historical news articles. The design of the product includes timelines, contextual topic pages for laws, concepts, and events, and re-keyed statistical content that allows researchers to work with the data.
TRID
“Free-to-access and search database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. Covers all disciplines related to transportation (including Public Health) and includes grey literature and commercial journal literature. International coverage including Europe, Mexico, Canada, Australia, and Japan. US producer. Records in English, French, German, and Spanish.”