Skip to main content

MGCR 352 Principles of Marketing

1 - Books and background information

1 - Finding books and Background Information

  • WorldCat: The McGill Library's catalogue. Use the facets on the left to limit results to books or ebooks.

 

Management and Business Dictionaries, Handbooks and Encyclopedias

 

2 - Industry research

2 - Finding Industry Research and Reports

You can search our industry research databases for reports on industries, markets, and product segments.

The following databases contain reports on wide range of industries:

  • IBISWorld: Broad range of industries. (Canada & US)
  • Mintel: Focus on consumer products and services. (Canada & US)
  • Passport: Focus on consumer products and services. (International)
  • Marketline: Broad range of industries. (International)
  • eMarketer: Reports related to e-business and digital aspects of 12 broad industries.

Tips

  • Use reports from multiple databases to get a complete picture of an industry.
  • If you can't find a report for the Canadian market, look for a US report and determine if the information there could be applied to the Canadian context.

See also: Industry Research guide

3 - Company research

3 - Finding Company Research and Reports

Use the databases below to find company information such as:

  • financial information,
  • executive information,
  • competitor information, etc. 

4 - Consumer research

3 - Finding Consumer Demographic Information

Similar to industry reports, these reports are based on a combination of primary and secondary source data.

  • Mintel: Reports include a databook spreadsheet containing details on consumer behaviour and preferences.
  • Passport: Reports on consumer lifestyles (click Consumers at the top of the page) provide details on trends in different areas: digital consumer, households, income & expenditures, lifestyles, population.
  • Vividata Target Snapshot : Psychographic and demographic data on Canadian consumers.
  • SimplyAnalytics: Create maps and reports using Canadian demographic data.
    You must create an account if you want to save your work. Limited to 5 users at a time.

See also: Consumer Research guide

5 - Country research

5 - Finding Country Research, Information and Reports

Consult the databases below for information regarding country stability, current economic information, economic outlook information, government structure and more. 

6 - Statistics and data

6 - Finding Additional Statistics and Data

Databases

  • Statista: Brings together statistics from a wide range of sources.
  • eMarketer: Statistics related to e-business.

Statistics Canada

Statistics Canada provides data and statistics on a wide range of subjects.

CANSIM: Main database for accessing StatsCan data. Tables can be customized to change scope, time coverage, etc.

You can browse for data:

Quebec, Montreal

* Quebec and Montreal are listed here as examples. Most provinces, states, and major cities will have statistics portals similar to these.


See also: Data guide

7 - Using Google to find information online

7 - Using Google Like a Professional

You can often find reports on companies, industries, and products online using Google.

For example, to find reports on the coffee industry, you can search for:

coffee industry market report filetype:pdf

Reports of this type are often published online as PDF files, so including filetype:pdf in your search limits helps to focus your search. You can always leave this out if you want to retrieve content in any format.

8 - Can't find a report or statistic?

8 - What to do when you cannot find a report or statistic

In cases where the specific reports, statistics, or data are not available, you will need to carry out your own research, bringing together articles or news items that provide you with information on the industry you are interested in.

A few approaches you can try:

  • Look for reports for a more general industry or market and extrapolate the information there to your particular case. For example, if you can't find a report on men's running shoes, look for a report on men's sportsware and/or men's footware.
  • Look for reports for related industries or markets. Think creatively about your topic and see if there are other industries that could apply to your case. For example, if you can't find a report on smartwatches, you might look at reports for watches, smartphones, even fitness trackers.
  • Look for reports for a related or broader geographic area. If you can't find a information on the Quebec market, see if you can find data for Canada, the US, or North America.
  • Search for individual articles or news stories on your topic for insights and statistics. Sometimes those articles will mention specific reports or data sources that you can track down for more information.

Liaison Librarian for Management and Business

Amanda Wheatley's picture
Amanda Wheatley
Contact:
Humanities and Social Sciences Library
3459 McTavish Street
514-398-3921

Liaison Librarian for Management, Business, and Geospatial Data

Melissa Rivosecchi's picture
Melissa Rivosecchi
Contact:
514-398-1713

Business FAQ

We've put together answers for the most frequently asked questions:

Need help? Ask us!

Off-campus access to e-resources

Install VPN software on your computer or tablet to connect to the McGill Network.

Cisco AnyConnect
(Windows, Mac, Linux, iOS, Android)

Citing business sources

Citing business sources
For help on how to cite business sources in your assignment using APA style, see our guide:


APA Citation Guide - OWL
Perdue's Online Writing Lab Guide on citing in APA style


Citation and References (pdf)
Slides on citing sources in your assignments.


EndNote (free download)
Software to help you manage your citations.

EndNote is useful when you are doing research involving a large number of sources. However, you do not have to use EndNote to manage or generate your citations.

 

Resource key

  • McGill users only
  • Open access resource
  • Free resource
  • In-library use
  • Catalogue record

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice