Skip to main content

Islamic thought & science

Welcome - Merhaba - أهلا وسهلا - Hoşgeldiniz - خوش آمدید ! This guide focuses on useful sources for the study of theology, philosophy, sciences and mysticism in the Islamic World. It is tailored to the courses offered by the McGill Institute of Islamic S

Encyclopedias & dictionaries

Janssens, Jules L. Annotated Bibliography on Ibn Sînâ (1970-1989) Including Arabic and Persian Publications and Turkish and Russian References. Leuven University Press, 1991. Print.

Janssens, Jules L. Annotated Bibliography on Ibn Sīnā: First Supplement (1990-1994). Fédération Internationale des Instituts d'études médiévales, 1999. Print.

Brief bibliographical guides in medieval phisolophy and theology (1998-2012) by Thérèse-Anne DRUART, Professor and Director of the Center of Medieval and Byzantine Studies at the Catholic University of America.

Iannone, A. Pablo. Dictionary of World Philosophy. Taylor and Francis, 2002. Electronic resource.

Encyclopaedia Islamica is based on the abridged translation of Dāʾirat al-Maʿārif-i Buzurg-i Islāmī', one of the most comprehensive research tools on Islam and the Muslim World. Encyclopedia Islamica is particularly relevant for Shi'i studies.

Encyclopaedia of Islam (2nd edition) is a unique and invaluable reference tool setting out the present state of knowledge of the Muslim World.

Encyclopaedia of Islam (3rd edition) is an entirely new work reflecting the great diversity of current scholarship on the Muslim World, including Islam in the 20th century and Muslim minorities all over the world.

Sheikh, M. Saeed. A Dictionary of Muslim Philosophy. Institute of Islamic Culture, 1970. Print..

Online Dictionay of Arabic Philosophical Terms references more than 3,000 philosophical terms.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, Science, and Technology in Islam is an authoritative research tool giving access to more than 250 A-Z providing scholarly overviews of the thinkers, movements, instruments, theories, institutions, processes, events, and historical developments related to Islamic classical history and the contemporary quest for knowledge.

Oxford Islamic Studies online encompasses over 5,000 A–Z reference entries, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, maps, and timelines, providing a first stop for anyone needing information and context on Islam.

Journals

Available at McGill:

  • Al-shajarah: Journal of the International Institute of Islamic Thought and Civilization (ISTAC) is a peer-reviewed international journal publishing original scholarly articles in Islamic thought, Islamic civilization, Islamic science and Malay world issue.
  • Arabic sciences and philosophy: a historical journal is an international peer-reviewed journal devoted to the sciences and philosophy in the Islamic World between the 8th and 18th centuries, but also includes important papers on scientific modernization from the 19th century. ASP also offers work on the inter-relations between Arabic and Greek, Indian, Chinese, Latin, Byzantine, Syriac and Hebrew sciences and philosophy.
  • Journal of Islamic studies is a peer-reviewed multi-disciplinary journal dedicated to the scholarly study of all aspects of Islam and of the Islamic world particularly in the fields of history, geography, political science, economics, anthropology, sociology, law, literature, religion, philosophy, international relations, environmental and developmental issues, and ethical questions related to scientific research.
  • Nazariyat, Journal for the History of Islamic Philosophy and Sciences is a peer-reviewed international journal issued in English and Turkish (Nazariyat İslam Felsefe ve Bilim Tarihi Araştırmaları Dergisi). It publishes original studies, critical editions of classical texts and book reviews on Islamic philosophy, kalām, theoretical aspects of Sufism and the history of sciences.
  • International Journal of Islamic Thought is a peer-reviewed international journal publishing research papers, review articles and conference reports in English, Arabic and Malay covering a broad range of topics such as Muslim Theology and Philosophy, Muslim Ethics and Moral, Islam and Arts, Islam, al-Quran and Hadith, etc.
  • The Journal of Islamic Philosophy is a peer-reviewed international journal dedicated to the academic study of Islamic philosophy.
  • Sophia Perennis is dedicated to publishing the best contemporary writing on the world’s wisdom traditions, largely from a Traditionalist or “Perennialist” perspective, as well as reprinting recognized classics.
  • Studia Islamica is a peer-reviewed journal publishing papers written by qualified specialists on subjects from all sections of the vast field of Islamic studies with special attention to discussions of method to comprehensive views, and new conclusions.
  • Transcendent Philosophy: An International Journal for Comparative Philosophy and Mysticism publishes original research articles, and book reviews. It is published by the London Academy of Iranian Studies.

Open Access:

The Directory of Free Arab Journals (DFAJ) is a directory of Open Access journals published in the Arab World. The website  is maintained by a group of OA activists in the region, and includes 319 journals from 150 publishers in 18 different countries.

Databases

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) offers scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.

JSTOR is a subject searchable index of journals on-line with JSTOR. Retrieves full-text back files of scholarly journals, some of which date back to the 1800's. Does not include articles more recent than five years ago.

Post-classical Islamic Philosophy Database Initiative (PIPDI) is a McGill Initiative aiming to "create the infrastructure that is needed for a systematic investigation of the vast but severely understudied corpus of Islamic philosophical texts dating from 1100-1900 CE".

ProQuest Research Library is a multidisciplinary database covering disciplines within the humanities and social sciences.

Web of Science offers scholarly articles for medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.It also includes citation indexes.

A selected list of databases pertinent to Islamic Studies is available here, and a complete list of databases accessible to McGill affiliated researchers is available here.

Sourcebooks

Adamson, Peter, and Richard C. Taylor. The Cambridge Companion to Arabic Philosophy. Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press, 2005. Print.

Adamson, Peter. Philosophy in the Islamic World: A Very Short Introduction. Oxford, United Kingdom: Oxford University Press, 2015. Print.

Bashier, Salman H. The Story of Islamic Philosophy: Ibn Tufayl, Ibn Al-'arabi, and Others on the Limit between Naturalism and Traditionalism. Albany, N.Y: State University of New York Press, 2011. Electronic resource.

Campanini, Massimo. An Introduction to Islamic Philosophy. Edinburgh: Edinburgh University, 2008. Print.

Corbin, Henry. History of Islamic Philosophy. London: Kegan Paul International, 1993. Print.

Daiber, Hans. Bibliography of Islamic Philosophy. Leiden: Brill, 1999. Print.

Goodman, Lenn E. Jewish and Islamic Philosophy: Crosspollinations in the Classic Age. New Brunswick, N.J: Rutgers University Press, 1999. Print.

Groff, Peter S, and Oliver Leaman. Islamic Philosophy A-Z. Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, 2007. Electronic resource.

Interpreting Avicenna: Science and Philosophy in Medieval Islam : Proceedings of the Second Conference of the Avicenna Study Group. Leiden: Brill, 2004. Electronic resource.

Kennedy-Day, Kiki. Books of Definition in Islamic Philosophy: The Limits of Words. London: RoutledgeCurzon, 2003. Electronic resource.

Koetschet, Pauline. La Philosophie Arabe: Ixe-xive Siècle. Paris: Points, 2011. Print.

Leaman, Oliver. A Brief Introduction to Islamic Philosophy. Cambridge, UK: Polity Press, 1999. Print.

Leaman, Oliver. The Biographical Encyclopedia of Islamic Philosophy. London: Thoemmes Continuum, 2006. Print.

McGinnis, Jon, and David C. Reisman. Classical Arabic Philosophy: An Anthology of Sources. Indianapolis: Hackett Pub. Company, 2007. Print.

Nasr, Seyyed H, and Oliver Leaman. History of Islamic Philosophy. London: Routledge, 1996. Print.

Nasr, Seyyed H. Islamic Philosophy from Its Origin to the Present: Philosophy in the Land of Prophecy. Albany: State University of New York Press, 2006. Print.

Parens, Joshua. An Islamic Philosophy of Virtuous Religions: Introducing Alfarabi. Albany: State University of New York Press, 2006. Electronic resource.

Pasnau, Robert, and Christina . Dyke. The Cambridge History of Medieval Philosophy. Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press, 2010. Print.

Pourjavady, Reza. Philosophy in Early Safavid Iran: Najm Al-Dīn Maḥmūd Al-Nayrīzī and His Writings. Leiden: Brill, 2011. Electronic resource.

Rescher, Nicholas. Studies in Arabic Philosophy. Pittsburgh: University of Pittsburgh Press, 1967. Print.

El-Rouayheb, Khaled. Relational Syllogisms and the History of Arabic Logic, 900-1900. Leiden: Brill, 2010. Electronic resource.

Rudolph, Ulrich. Islamische Philosophie: Von Den Anfängen Bis Zur Gegenwart. München: Beck, 2004. Print.

Rudolph, Ulrich, and Renate Würsch. Philosophie in Der Islamischen Welt. Basel: Schwabe Verlag, 2012. Print.

Sheikh, M S, and Mian M. Sharif. Islamic Philosophy. London: Octagon Press, 1982. Print.

Tymieniecka, Anna-Teresa, and Nazif Muhtaroglu. Classic Issues in Islamic Philosophy and Theology Today. Dordrecht: Springer, 2010. Electronic resource.

Tymieniecka, Anna-Teresa. Timing and Temporality in Islamic Philosophy and Phenomenology of Life. Dordrecht: Springer, 2007. Electronic resource.

Walzer, Richard. Greek into Arabic: Essays on Islamic Philosophy. Cambridge: Harvard Univ. Press, 1962. Print.

Watt, W M. Islamic Philosophy and Theology. Edinburgh: University Press, 1962. Print.

Wisnovsky, Robert. Aspects of Avicenna. Princeton, NJ: Markus Wiener Pub, 2001. Print.

Wisnovsky, Robert. Avicenna's Metaphysics in Context. Ithaca, N.Y: Cornell University Press, 2003. Print.

Wisnovsky, Robert, Faith Wallis, Jamie C. Fumo, and Carlos Fraenkel. Vehicles of Transmission, Translation, and Transformation in Medieval Textual Culture. Turnhout, Belgium : Brepols, 2011. Print.

Librarian

Anaïs Salamon's picture
Anaïs Salamon
Contact:
3485 McTavish Street
Montreal, QC
H3A 0E1
514-398-4688
Website

Audio content

History of philosophy in the Islamic World  is a series of podcast episodes

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice