Skip to main content

Islamic thought & science

Welcome - Merhaba - أهلا وسهلا - Hoşgeldiniz - خوش آمدید ! This guide focuses on useful sources for the study of theology, philosophy, sciences and mysticism in the Islamic World. It is tailored to the courses offered by the McGill Institute of Islamic S

Encyclopedias & dictionaries

Brief bibliographical guides in medieval phisolophy and theology (1998-2012) by Thérèse-Anne DRUART, Professor and Director of the Center of Medieval and Byzantine Studies at the Catholic University of America.

Encyclopaedia Islamica is based on the abridged translation of Dāʾirat al-Maʿārif-i Buzurg-i Islāmī', one of the most comprehensive research tools on Islam and the Muslim World. Encyclopedia Islamica is particularly relevant for Shi'i studies.

Encyclopaedia of Islam (2nd edition) is a unique and invaluable reference tool setting out the present state of knowledge of the Muslim World.

Encyclopaedia of Islam (3rd edition) is an entirely new work reflecting the great diversity of current scholarship on the Muslim World, including Islam in the 20th century and Muslim minorities all over the world.

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Containing thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more, this new encyclopedia fills a need in this key area of religious studies.

Meri, Josef W, and Jere L Bacharach. Medieval Islamic Civilization: An Encyclopedia. Routledge, 2006.

Oxford Islamic Studies online encompasses over 5,000 A–Z reference entries, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, maps, and timelines, providing a first stop for anyone needing information and context on Islam.

Oxford Handbook of Islamic Theology provides a comprehensive and authoritative survey of the current state of the field. Part One focuses on the various strands of Islamic theology during the formative and early middle periods and Part Two offers a number of case studies.

Journals

Available at McGill:

Open Access:

The Directory of Free Arab Journals (DFAJ) is a directory of Open Access journals published in the Arab World. The website  is maintained by a group of OA activists in the region, and includes 319 journals from 150 publishers in 18 different countries.

Databases

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) offers scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.

JSTOR is a subject searchable index of journals on-line with JSTOR. Retrieves full-text back files of scholarly journals, some of which date back to the 1800's. Does not include articles more recent than five years ago.

Post-classical Islamic Philosophy Database Initiative (PIPDI) is a McGill Initiative aiming to "create the infrastructure that is needed for a systematic investigation of the vast but severely understudied corpus of Islamic philosophical texts dating from 1100-1900 CE".

ProQuest Research Library is a multidisciplinary database covering disciplines within the humanities and social sciences.

Web of Science gives access to scholarly articles for medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.It also includes citation indexes.

A selected list of databases pertinent to Islamic Studies is available here, and a complete list of databases accessible to McGill affiliated researchers is available here.

Sourcebooks

Abrahamov, Binyamin. Islamic Theology: Traditionalism and Rationalism. Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, 1998. Print.

Averroës, , and George F. Hourani. On the Harmony of Religion and Philosophy: A Translation, with Introd. and Notes, of Ibn Rushd's Kitāb Faṣl Al-Maqāl, with Its Appendix (damīma) and an Extract from Kitāb Al Kashf ʻan Manāhij Al-Adilla. London: Luzac, 1977. Print.

Barnes, Jonathan. Aristotle: A Very Short Introduction. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2000. Electronic resource.

Bayḍāwī, ʻAbd A. U, Edwin E. Calverley, James W. Pollock, and Maḥmūd A.-R. Iṣfahānī. Nature, Man and God in Medieval Islam: ʻabd Allah Baydawi's Text, Tawaliʻ Al-Anwar Min Mataliʻ Al-Anzar, Along with Mahmud Isfahani's Commentary, Mataliʻ Al-Anzar, Sharh Tawaliʻ Al-Anwar. Leiden: Brill, 2002. Electronic resource.

Ess, Josef, Van. The Flowering of Muslim Theology. Cambridge, Mass: Harvard University Press, 2006. Print.

Gardet, Louis & Anawati, Georges C. Introduction à la théologie musulmane: Essai de théologie comparée. Paris: J. Vrin, 1970. Print.

Goldziher, Ignác, and Wolfgang Behn. The Ẓāhirīs: Their Doctrine and Their History : a Contribution to the History of Islamic Theology. Leiden: Brill, 2008. Electronic resource.

Goldziher, Ignác, and Bernard Lewis. Introduction to Islamic Theology and Law. Princeton, N.J: Princeton University Press, 1981. Print.

Griffel, Frank. Al-ghazālī's Philosophical Theology. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2009. Electronic resource.

Hourani, Albert. Arabic Thought in the Liberal Age, 1798-1939: Issued Under the Auspices of the Royal Institute of International Affairs. London: Oxford University Press, 1962. Print.

Khalifa, Nouha. Hardship and Deliverance in the Islamic Tradition: Theology and Spirituality in the Works of Al-Tanūkhī. London: Tauris Academic Studies, 2010. Electronic resource.

Kokoschka, Alina, Birgit Krawietz, and Georges Tamer. Islamic Theology, Philosophy and Law: Debating Ibn Taymiyya and Ibn Qayyim Al-Jawziyya. , 2013. Electronic resource.

Landolt, Hermann, and Todd Lawson. Reason and Inspiration in Islam: Theology, Philosophy and Mysticism in Muslim Thought : Essays in Honour of Hermann Landolt. London: I.B. Tauris, 2005. Electronic resource.

Martin, Richard C, Mark R. Woodward, and Dwi S. Atmaja. Defenders of Reason in Islam: Muʻtazilism from Medieval School to Modern Symbol. Oxford, England: Oneworld Publications, 1997. Print.

Nagel, Tilman. The History of Islamic Theology from Muhammad to the Present. Princeton, NJ: Markus Weiner Publishers, 2000. Print.

Rahman, Fazlur. Islam & Modernity: Transformation of an Intellectual Tradition. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1982. Print.

Thomas, David. Christian Doctrines in Islamic Theology. Leiden: Brill, 2008. Electronic resource.

Tymieniecka, Anna-Teresa, and Nazif Muhtaroglu. Classic Issues in Islamic Philosophy and Theology Today. Dordrecht: Springer, 2010. Electronic resource.

Watt, W M. Islamic Philosophy and Theology: An Extended Survey. Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, 1985. Print.

Winter, T J. The Cambridge Companion to Classical Islamic Theology. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2008. Print.

Wolfson, Harry A. The Philosophy of the Kalam. Cambridge, Mass: Harvard University Press, 1976. Print.

Librarian

Anaïs Salamon's picture
Anaïs Salamon
Contact:
3485 McTavish Street
Montreal, QC
H3A 0E1
514-398-4688
Website

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice